Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Murray Hill Middle School 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a community member
I went to Murray Hill Middle School this year. The school is very clean and the people there are genuinely friendly.

Murray Hill Middle School 1

Posted August 04, 2013
- a community member
Dr.Dickey is really just the reason there are 1 or 2 star ratings and I can't say I disagree. Glad he's leaving


Murray Hill Middle School 1

Posted February 02, 2011
- a teacher
Dickey is unfair to the staff,he gives us teachers a hard time.I be glad when this fake princapal leave,

Murray Hill Middle School 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a teacher
MHMS is supported by a strong principal who recognizes the quality teachers & tries to mentor or move on those who are tired or not devoted to our profession. Any teacher who is upset by this dynamic style of leadership is one who may want to reconsider their chosen profession or step up their game and rededicate themselves to being a cutting edge professional within the building. We have so many educators who are willing to go that "extra mile" for our kids (as evidenced by the previous reviews) and that kind of dedication is amazing. So many of our former students come back and visit, and those who have been here longer than 7 years (like myself) see the devotion our school and our support has engendered within our former students and from the community. I love MHMS and I'm proud to teach here.

Murray Hill Middle School 5

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
Thank You so much for being Educators that are willing to go the "Extra Mile" for the students learning and well being. Students are receiving one of the best Education in the World. Thanks to all Administrators, Teachers and Staff for all the hard work.


Murray Hill Middle School 1

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
my daughter has bin going tomhms for three years and this is her last year but she is not going far in school and isnt getting the help she needs sorry byt its true..

Murray Hill Middle School
no rating

Posted January 17, 2010
- a student
I love mhms! its the best school evr...6th grade my favorite teacher was Mr.Sherin and Mrs.Zinger AWESOME teachers!! 7th grade... Mrs.Mertz spanish teacher shes the best... 8th grade havent been there yet but i think the teachers will be great!! I LOVE MHMS and the principal is great... Mr. Dickeyy

Murray Hill Middle School 5

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
My son just started 6th grade and my observation about the school is awesome. Principal Mr. Dickey and the teachers are very dedicated to get the best out of each kid. I am really surprised to know that my son's GT science teacher Mr. Richard Sherin is MIT Chemical Engineering graduate. I could see lot of inspiration in my son from Mr. Sherin and other teachers. Looking for a great year ahead.


Murray Hill Middle School 5

Posted July 30, 2009
- a parent
MHMS is the best school ever! The teachers and staff work hard to help each and every student be the best they can be.Also,the principal Mr.Dickey is the best.I really like and enjoy the events such as the MSA Pep Rally that motivates us to always work hard and do our best.When I moved I was so upset because Murray Hill was like my home away from home and I loved to come to school each day.I would do anything in the world to come back.

Murray Hill Middle School 4

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
The principal is a fair and honest man who cares very deeply for the kids. He has set a strong vision for the school and as long as he remains the principal the school will continue to improve.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Murray Hill Middle School
9989 Winter Sun Rd, Laurel, MD  20723
(410) 880-5897
Last modified Murray Hill Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Murray Hill Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top