Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-8
Private
Oxon Hill-Glassmanor, MD
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Columba Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
some kids are allowed to be less than kind. No caring or empathy is instilled in it's students. over zealous mommy and daddies run the school,

St Columba Catholic School 1

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
Would not advise it to anyone. In my honest opinion this is a poor school. Save your money.


St Columba Catholic School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
This school has such favoritism that it only fosters bitterness. In my opinion, it is not a healthy environment for a child

St Columba Catholic School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
Favoritism : most definitely Quality of education :so so, better in the lower grades Leadership: Principle that is controlled by certain parents and has different sets of rules and guidelines for different parents. Afraid to take stances for what is right Environment is pretentious and stuffy neither warm nor nurturing. Have been there 1 year and will not return.

St Columba Catholic School 4

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
St. Columba School is a great school. They have a caring, dedicated, and nurturing staff and faculty. No they aren't perfect, but they do strive to be the best and do the best for our children. Whats wrong with being old school, it helps make children well rounded adults. They are installing air conditioning this summer, which they fund-raised for all this year. They have a great resource teacher and assistant and have started a talented and gifted program this year. All schools are not a perfect fit for all children, it's the parents job to find the right school , as we all know some people are not that easy to please. Check us out we just might be the right school for you.


St Columba Catholic School 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
GREAT school with qualified, caring, and nurturing teachers!! As a St. Columba (Oxon Hill, MD) parent I was quite pleased with the quality and level of education my child received. She started in Kindergarten, graduated with honors, accepted to ALL of the high schools she applied to, and received scholarships! [I have another one at the school now!] The teachers at STC CARE about their students, are DEDICATED to the students and the profession, WORK HARD to ensure the kids are prepared for high school, and make themselves AVAILABLE to parents when issues arise. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND St. Columba.

St Columba Catholic School 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a community member
Love the school! There is a reason why STC has been pumping out GREAT MINDS for over 50 years -- DEDICATED Teachers!!

St Columba Catholic School 1

Posted June 11, 2014
- a community member
The way the teachers teach is horrible! It is so old school and the kids are behind compared to other schools. There is no air so the kids suffer when it's hot. And the kids are out of control!!!!!!


St Columba Catholic School 4

Posted December 31, 2013
- a parent
Despite other ratings regarding technology, i feel that i get emails from the school at least 3 times a week, once from the principal, and at least twice from the teacher. As for other tech savvy tools, i would rather the children learn how to do things manually through verbal interaction. In this day and age, technology changes so fast, the operating system or the "next big thing" will be obsolete by the time they need it in the "real world". Other luxuries such as air conditioning...I have never experienced in school air conditioning except for one or two classes, if i was lucky, so i dont get what the big deal is. They have provisions in place for extreme heat and that's what matters. Teachers are very involved and even when its a small behavioral issue, i've been contacted before it turns in to a bigger issue. They expect parent involvement and reward it. If you dont attend HSA meetings or are not involved, you'll find yourself behind. I hear stories of low attendance during HSA meetings. St Columba has one every month and I've never seen less than 100 people at any given meeting. You get out what you put in. I am extremely happy with St Columba.

St Columba Catholic School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
This school may not have all the fundings for the high tech programs (since when was FB membership and email use a measure of a good school), but I was looking for a school that delivered excellent academics and a close knit caring family atmosphere. I got it at St. Columba bar none. It takes a while to get used to all the procedures and rules/regulations, but the staff and faculty all love the children and think of their best interest in all situations (despite their limited budget). It promotes high acadamics, discipline, and structure. Don't expect to just drop off your kid and let the school do the rest. They expect parents to be very active. Expect to be very active on a daily basis (esp. homework). My child loves it here and has threatened to never talk to me again if I ever think about switching her so I'm hoping we don't have to relocate. To address the A/C situation, they are fundraising like crazy for this. It's an expensive venture. And regarding the technology, call me old fashioned, but I can provide all that at home. My child is advanced in all areas and happily goes to school everyday. Consider St. Columba and decide for yourself.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Columba Catholic School
7800 Livingston Road, Oxon Hill-Glassmanor, MD  20745
(301) 567-6212
Last modified St Columba Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St Columba Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top