Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
247 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 84 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Columba Catholic School 4

Posted August 06, 2016
- a parent
St. Columba School is a great school. They have a caring, dedicated, and nurturing staff and faculty. No they aren't perfect, but they do strive to be the best and do the best for our children. Whats wrong with being old school, it helps make children well round adults. All schools are not a perfect fit for all children, it's the parents job to find the right school , as we all know some people are not that easy to please. Check us out we just might be the right school for you.

St Columba Catholic School 2

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
First, there has been a disingenuous effort to flood this thread with glowing comments. Don't believe the hype. Test scores in math are low. Transparency is non-existent. School Leadership is weak and hostile to even the most basic of requests from parents. Multiple parents have left school abruptly mid-school year. Many others are leaving at the end of this school year. My suggestion: keep looking!!!


St Columba Catholic School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
Our family wants to say THANK YOU to Mrs. Rickling!!! She is everyone's go to person! She is in charge of our enrollment, our school's fund raising events, she is our art teacher, our piano teacher. She does tremendous work for our St. Columba Family and very generous with her time and resources to our children. We cannot thank her enough in her contribution to our school and our children adore her! Her affable and generous spirit is one of the many reasons why we love our school!!!

St Columba Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
I have been in constant communication with my daughters' teachers and there was never a time that I feel my concerns be it small or big were not addressed accordingly.

St Columba Catholic School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
St. Columba School is at its 54 years! To me this says a lot about a school. It is a tight knit community with parents and teachers working hand in hand in ensuring that the children are given quality education. Students are very respectful and genuinely enjoys being in school. I highly recommend it to anyone!!!


St Columba Catholic School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Our principal at St. Columba School is wonderful! Because of her leadership and love of the children, we are one strong family with a solid foundation built on faith, academics and service. Thank you Mrs. Magnaye for being the gentle Mother to our children!

St Columba Catholic School 5

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
My children love St. Columba. The teachers are very caring and nurturing. The environment is very small community. Everyone (parents and teachers) are eager to help each other. It truly is the "it takes a village" mentality.

St Columba Catholic School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 02, 2016
- a community member
It's a combined effort from the principal and her staff of teachers that I owe thanks to. They work together as a team to ensure the students receive the necessary attention.


St Columba Catholic School 5

Posted May 02, 2016
- a community member
I could not be more pleased with the education that my daughter has and is receiving from St. Columba. My husband is an alumni, my mother-in-law has been a parishioner and choir member for over 28 years. Every year the school meets and works harder to achieve even higher standards for the kids.

St Columba Catholic School 5

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
We love St Columba School!!! We cam from another private Montessori school and our experience between 2 schools are very different. We liked how the children are being taught not only quality education but also they instill Christian values to the students. This school is very grounded in their teaching with amazing teachers that truly cares about their students.

Nearby schools

St Columba Catholic School
7800 Livingston Road, Oxon Hill-Glassmanor, MD  20745
(301) 567-6212
Last modified St Columba Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top