Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fr Gabriel Richard High School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a community member
I am an alumni. I am division 1 athlete competing at the highest level in the SEC. I am a triple major in Management, Economics, and Finance with a minor in International Business. I am an American Record Holder as well as an All-American Academically. I believe that the faculty and staff at FGRHSAA helped form me as an individual and as a part of a community and beyond. FGR has and will continue to offer great opportunities for its students. I am in disbelief that there are individuals who are unable to see how FGR is completely worth the cost when the there is a mass number of scholarships that FGR grads receive for their higher education. FGR truly forms its student body through Mind, Body, and Spirit. I don't know an FGR grad who doesn't work hard and treat all people with respect. As anywhere in life, you will be what you allow yourself to be. The opportunities are available as well as the academic curriculum. P.S. If you think the athletics aren't good, you didn't do your research.

Fr Gabriel Richard High School 2

Posted August 15, 2014
- a community member
This school isn't worth the money. Teaching is marginal depending on who and what is taken, social events don't exist, and sports is a waste of time. Try a charter school.


Fr Gabriel Richard High School 4

Posted July 19, 2014
- a student
in response to the "Save your money for college and don't choose this school." comment, I would say that the religion does not fall to the extreme right but is rather simply teaching what the catholic church teaches. News flash its a catholic school so we shouldn't be surprised that what the catholic church teaches will be taught here. Also, this parent said students were not allowed to question! this could not be further from the truth. In every theology class I had here, questioning the faith and asking about certain things was not only encouraged by teachers but done a lot. We had many open discussions and nobody felt afraid to speak up even if it was against how the teacher felt. In this sense, it was very open minded and respectful of how everyone felt and thought, but at the same time always ready to defend the churches position. Good teachers, great staff. but yes some teachers were not the best and some counselors not the best. overall however great school!

Fr Gabriel Richard High School 1

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Save your money for college and don't choose this school. The leadership is very weak and ineffective, the academics spotty at best for a private school. Science is mostly strong, but other areas are being blanketed by very young inexperienced teachers with existing weak teachers allowed to continue without guidance or correction. Religion falls to the extreme right and students not allowed to question anything. College counseling is terrible with the majority of students ending up at a handful of schools. The families are good, but it would be wise to choose a school like Divine Child or a public HS with a vibrant church youth group if you want to keep your children in the Church and give them a strong academic environment.

Fr Gabriel Richard High School 3

Posted June 09, 2013
- a parent
Father Gabriel Richard High School has many good qualities, such as being focused on providing a solid religious foundation for students. Their weakness is not weeding out ineffective teachers and staff. They have many excellent teachers, however they also have some very weak teachers who seem to lack basic teaching skills. To make matters worse these individuals are leading standard level math and science classes (the Honors teachers are excellent), where the strongest and most effective teachers should be found.


Fr Gabriel Richard High School 5

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
Fantastic CATHOLIC school. Yes, CATHOLIC as the name states. If you are protestant or Muslim or a Christmas Catholic and do not want your children to be in an ACTIVE Catholic school, then this is not the place for them. Our family loves the school, it's teachings, academics, and teachers. I love the focus on giving to others first. I love the focus on rigorous - yes that means harder - academics. Curriculum focuses on Catholic spiritual teachings of Christ and the Catholic church - not on secularism, Protestantism, Islam or any other faith. This school is faith based first which is why I chose it. If that is not the focus of your family or you have disagreements with abstinence, birth control, etc. that the church is against, then this is not the place for your child.
1 person found this helpful

Fr Gabriel Richard High School 4

Posted May 19, 2011
- a parent
The proof is in the pudding. My children performed well after FGR got into good schools were prepared for the rigorous challenges of college and increased their Catholic faith. It was everything I was looking for as a parent. It didn't absolve me from my obligations, so if you are one of those don't bother.

Fr Gabriel Richard High School 4

Posted March 10, 2010
- a parent
Overall I would rate the environment of the school as excellent. Certain areas were unacceptably weak, however. At the top of the list I would put the guidance counselor. My students had minimal needs for the counselor until senior year when its time to apply to colleges. They ran into delays, excuses, weak communication, and a lousy experience. Advice to parents of seniors: make copies of everything, track when you asked for something, follow up on every detail and deadline....especially if applying to competitive colleges. One other frustration with the school is the seeming lack of concern by the administration when you bring issues to their attention. This is not the place for details - talk to other parents and you'll get the picture. Faculty is mostly strong; coaches seem to be good to excellent; extra curricular activities good. Many wonderful families are involved here!


Fr Gabriel Richard High School 5

Posted September 02, 2009
- a parent
Excellent, focus is on challenging academics. The standard is to take Honors or AP classes. The majority of the kids have good manners, polite, high morals, clean cut vs. the minority in the public system.

Fr Gabriel Richard High School 5

Posted July 16, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fr Gabriel Richard High School
4333 Whitehall Drive, Ann Arbor, MI  48105
(734) 662-0496
Last modified Fr Gabriel Richard High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Fr Gabriel Richard High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top