Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Yeokum Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 731 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2014

This is a fine school. The teachers strive to teach the kids well and the majority of students try to do well also.


Posted March 30, 2014

It is like a prinson... None of the teachers care about our grades or anything. They do not help us if we need help. And if we ask for tutoring they will just let us do the work and have them not even pay atteion.. My parents don't like this school at all. And we are thinking about moving school districts.


Posted January 13, 2014

This school is awesome. I am challenged everyday to engage my mind and try new experiences. Not a day goes by that I did not learn something new about myself or the people around me. I love Yeokum.


Posted May 14, 2012

a school with about no rules they say about two or 3 when i alone have been forced to fight 3 times with the same person


Posted April 21, 2011

This school is HORRIBLE! I feel as though I am imprisoned everyday. The teacher's don't care very much about the students. They put way to much stress on us. I have always been straight A student and I'm dangerously close to failing because a lot of my teachers blow me off. There are 2 teacher's that I really like, they are willing to help me when I need it even if it's not for their class. My team 82 science teacher and Team 81 English teacher are the only ones assisting me in holding my straight A's. The math teachers do "tutoring" , but it's really just 'sit down and do your homework. I'm going to get coffee and talk to other teachers.' Overall, I am NOT impressed with this school. I'm in 8th grade, but I'm leaving the district at the end of the year. I only hope my new district ihas better teachers and better cirriculum. I hope that they get these problems fixed by next year, as I know many younger kids who'll be starting here next year. I also hope the principals and administration can step up to the plate and do their job. Right now, they don;t seem to like their job.


Posted May 5, 2009

I Attended this school some 20 years ago and now my daughter is a student there. As a student it felt like prison wih no windows and I always felt that if I wasnt one of the special kids I was brushed off. Now as a parent i am doing everythng I can to make it a better experience for my daughter but I am sad to say that it realy has not changed much, eventhough my daughter is a great student getting information like available activities and groups is like pulling teeth. She wants to join groups and be involved with her school but we cant get any answers from teachers or staff. This school has the worst parent teacher communication I have ever seen... Mr knight was my 8th grade teacher and now is the asst pinciple ....I really expected more
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

I am a 7th grader and there are way to many fights and stress for me and we are behind Ray-Pec in education!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2009

this being my daughter's first year in middle school, i don't know what to think. she has been out alot due to illness, and i must say the staff and the teachers have been very understanding and willing to work with her to get caught up. yes, the building could definately use some upgrading, but if it's not in the budget, what can you do. she has had some mild issues with bullying, but i think that goes with anyplace you are. we will see what the rest of the year holds, as well as her eighth grade year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

This school feels like a prison the are only a couple windows in the whole building the teachers are distracted and tend to not be very helpfull also the work does not allow the students to show their full potential and over all he administrators act like they dont care and are too busy with other things. Also the disipline used is disfunctional and doesn't solve any behavior problems. Over all this school should get better teachers and a new building.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2007

My daughter attended this school for half of her 7th grade year and all of her 8th. The teachers were very receptive and willing to deal with her special needs. The Administration was almost always available if I had questions. I admit this school like all have really great teachers as well as some not so great but I feel the great ones far out number the poorer ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

I was a student of this school for 2 years. SOME of the teachers are ok, few are great, and some are just plain horrible. Both principals are unhelpful. i was apart of the band and that area is perfectly acceptable. there was alot of parent involvement. RIF was a great example of it, even though the students didnt appreciate it. the discipline is standard i guess i havent really had much trouble. overall this school needs to straighten up FAST. 2/5
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 22, 2006

My daughter attends Yeokum, and we have had so far just bad experiences with this school. The teachers on her team brush me off or don't return my calls when I call to ask questions. There is a lack of discipline in her math class, I feel the work my duaghter is bringing home is not on a 7th grade level. Also there is a lot of bullying that goes on at this school that the administrators are doing nothing--or very little if anything--about. If I could move right now, just to get my daughter out of this school, I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I disagree with the other reviews I think that you are just seeing one side of the story. You need to get the facts before they start talking about the Principals and Teachers. Our teachers help us to the fullest! Maybe your kids are just not asking or taking what they are given.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2006

This school is one of the worst i have been to. The principal does not help students who need it, he often says things are not his problem, even if they occur with the administration of the school. The school is hot in the summer and freezing in the winter, discrimination runs wild. Students who have poor academic skills are often pushed to the back of the class, leaving many good questions unanswered, and many kids confused on what they should do. This school really needs to get its act together, and fast.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 24, 2005

The teachers dont help the students understand the work like they should. I am not at all happy with the way they dismiss students questions. The school is not adequatly designed. They built a new 9th grade center, now they need to build a new one for the 7th and 8th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

The school is too old. The principals don't help you with and problems. The teacher are not much help. The heating and cooling in the school is horrible. In the summer it is really hot and the winter is just the oppisite. . If I could rate all zeros than I would.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 56% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

321 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

352 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2014.

350 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students53%
Black33%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White58%
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilities15%
Limited English proficient students13%

Math

All Students44%
Black35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White48%
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilities25%
Limited English proficient students6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students45%
Black34%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White48%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilities21%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students12%
Black3%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White14%
Free or reduced-price lunch12%
Students with disabilities13%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students47%
Black32%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilities24%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students95%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White96%
Free or reduced-price lunch93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 74%
Black 14% 17%
Hispanic 9% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

613 West Mill
Belton, MO 64012
Phone: (816) 348-1042

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT