Advertisement
Advertisement

Campbell Montessori School

Private | PK-7 | 150 students

Our school is best known for providing an excellent Montessori program.
 
 

 

Living in St. Charles

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $138,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

The Campbell community of students, parents and faculty is fantastic. Our family felt welcome from day one. The school offers a variety of events and opportunities to participate in our child's education. Campbell is diverse in every aspect of the word. This diversity has greatly enhanced our child's experience. We feel very fortunate to be a part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

We have a 3 year old who has been attending Campbell Montessori School since he was 16 months. The toddler classroom is a very loving, nurturing environment where the littlest students at the school learn to do very big things! At 16 months, our son was clearing his lunch table, feeding the fish, pouring his own glass of water, drinking from an open cup, building towers as tall as his little body, and other amazing things that I didn't know he was capable of doing! They also spend a great deal of time outdoors, exploring their playground and the surrounding areas. The primary classroom has been a step up, and he continues to thrive. The teachers push them to learn new things, and interact with one another with respect and kindness. We are so very happy with our experience at Campbell Montessori School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

I sent an email to the Director explaining why we left with no response. I summarized below. In my opinion this says a lot about the integrity of the school. No milk Lunches- - I'm very conscious of proper nutrition, but felt pressure not to bring carbs, sugar, too much food, food that he couldn't open, etc. I was always worried he wouldn't be able to get into his lunch and would feel pressured to do it himself even if he WANTED a little help. I've observed how these situations are handled and I felt that when he's asked for help the response was a bit curt for my taste. Fall on playground and picking up wet- He fell on the playground scraping his forehead and back. Nobody noticed. He was also picked up 3X with wet clothes. He had wet himself on the playground without anyone noticing. He was visibly wet. No locks on doors Pressure to fundraise Creativity- I would like him to be exposed to more creative activities such as painting, dramatic play, etc. Dropping off at curb- I completely understand the reasoning behind this policy, however it definitely isn't the best option for us. XXX asked me to walk him in everyday and would cry or have to be talked into getting out of the car.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2013

Our children have been attending Campbell Montessori for 4 years now and we are very pleased. The Montessori philosophy is such a natural and positive way to teach children. The calm, hands on environment has made learning exciting for our children. Our 7 year old often says, "I can't wait to do fractions today." They are given the tools and guidance to be life long learners and that is pure joy to see as a parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

This school is not safe for your children. They are neglectful and safety is not of a top concern! I wish that I had listened to the previous reviewers years ago, but chose to give Campbell the benefit of doubt and send my kids. I truly regret that now. They put my kid's safety in jeopardy, on several occasions, and I paid to send my kids to this school! That is why I'm writing now. Raising money and fitting into the status quo are highly encouraged. And be prepared to have absolutely no communication. I had to fight with them to figure out what supplies were required, and treated like a fool for asking. They are highly judgmental and will call you a bad parent to your face! Rude, is the only word I have for our teacher. Money, money, money reigns supreme. Even if you pay on time and are never late with a payment, you are considered to be lesser than if you do not contribute to the annual fund, etc., etc. We have now chosen not to send our children back into this environment. We were also made aware of the fact that this school's AMI certifications are for the most part a joke. We gave them our best shot, and lots of chances, but in the end they just fall way too short. Bummer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

My child attended this school for 12 years-from age 2 1/2 thru 8th grade. I did MY homework prior to enrolling her here-educating myself on different types of schooling and formats available. I wanted my child to not be encumbered with being made to do age appropriate activities but to be allowed to learn at their own pace which Montessori allows. I liked that children were allowed to be in class with older and younger children- it makes for empathy towards younger kids, not the mindset that older kids reign supreme.I liked that there were not typical "grades"-there also weren't any dummies or brainiacs where kids got labeled. They are all on the same playing field.There is much greater ethnic diversity here which is always an education in and of itself. My child was never bored and never hated going to school. She missed it in the summer time. Every teacher we had was amazing and offered unique things to her education. They want to be there and enjoy what they do which creates passion in the child.They teach the kids to think and use their brain. She did great transistioning into high school and has carried a 4.0 GPA The only negative I can say is they don't have a high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

As a former student of the school I can say from first-hand experience that my mothers decision to enroll me at age two was the possibly the best she's ever made. I was essentially raised in the Montessori environment and that has made all the difference. I was enabled to interact with students years below and above me, learned at my own pace, and was equipped with all the necessary skills I needed to advance from eighth grade into high school. My teachers became some of the most influential people in my life. I was challenged in ways that led me to reach potential beyond what I myself knew I was capable of. I always felt safe and accepted by my peers, and found it very easy to make friends in the mixed-age classrooms. Rather than being required to sit quietly at a desk with my nose in a textbook all day, the lessons were much more active and involved; things like maintaining and exploring the ecology of the on-campus trails, learning how to work with wood and power tools, going on outings to local resources for further investigation of various topics, and other hands-on, real-life experiences and learning methods. I'd say this has supplied me with a great educational foundation!


Posted November 28, 2012

Our family had two children enrolled at Campbell for two consecutive years. The primary programs are hit and miss depending on the teacher your child is assigned and the elementary grades are awfully executed. The problems in the classrooms are a direct result of the poor leadership at the school, which refuses to see any problems that they should be resolving. There are much better choices in Montessori education than this. Look further for the betterment of your children - we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

As infants and toddlers, both my daughter and son were well ahead of their peers in development. I chose Campbell Montessori because I was led to believe that they would have more opportunities to forge ahead in the curriculum instead of being held to their grade level in traditional schools. The opposite happened. I just transferred them to a traditional school this year and both are FAR behind. My daughter was unable to print some of her letters properly. She is in 3rd grade. And she was way behind the class in basic math facts. My son was not up to grade level in any subject. Montessori is a nice concept on paper, and I'm sure it's very useful to some kids who are well matched to self-motivated learning. My children were less confident by nature and tended to hang back when allowed to, which was all the time in this environment. They suffered because of it. And they weren't exposed to nearly enough curriculum for their age. My daughter is 8 and didn't know the value of a dime versus a nickle. I wish I had not wasted my money at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

Campbell to us offers a great value when comparing to other private schools and other montessori schools we visited and attended. We attended another montessori pre-school but couldn't afford having a second child with that school. Campbell offered an affordable option with unique features that we liked better. The natural playground lets the kids (1 boy and 1 girl) come up with unique games that cookie cutter jungle gyms don't inspire. The classrooms have great natural light and are spacious to allow the self directed learning opportunity. I see the creative projects that the upper level classrooms create and I look forward to seeing what our kids do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

Campbell repeatedly told us that children who are moved from there to other schools out perform in the new school. Our child struggled to catch up in his new school when we pulled him out of Campbell. It took a year before he was performing at his grade level - even though he regularly scores in the top 90% on standardized tests. He simply did not know his grade level material. In addition we found the administration to be unresponsive to our concerns about education and school safety. When our child had an accident which required several doctor visits our request for better safety measures were ignored. Too often we were told to simply "believe" that "he will get there". We could not get adequate answers to our questions from teachers or from the administration. The staff gave the impression that they were directed not to answer questions - everything had to go through the administrator. Parents were not invited nor were we encouraged to attend board meetings. We never knew when or where they were scheduled. There was too much secrecy at this school for us. You could only participate if you worked to raise money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

Regardless of what "affiliated" means, (some teachers are in the process of completing their diploma) you will not find another school like this in St. Charles County. There are other montessori schools in St. Louis where tuition is twice the amount with little diversity of students. Still a much better option than public school. Check it out personally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

I want to contest the posting dated June 8, 2010. Campbell Montessori is not "AMI certified". According to the AMI website Campbell is "affiliated" which according to the same website means: "Due to a variety of circumstances, some schools are unable to meet the requirement that all teachers be holders of AMI diplomas at the appropriate age level. . .". Check the AMI website for a full definition: http://www.montessori-ami.org/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

Students at Campbell Montessori are very self-confident and excited to learn. You will not find another school like this in St. Charles County. I recommend anyone even slightly interested in Montessori education visit this school. It is AMI certified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

I am very pleased with Campbell Montessori. My daughter completed her primary training and is now doing well in our neighborhood school. She had a firm and excellent academic and social education. I have the utmost gratitude for her teacher and assistant teacher who is now teaching my son in his first year of primary. After five years, I feel the staff at Campbell are compassionate and focused on the the best intentions for all the children. I like that the Campbell community is extremely diverse culturally and socio-economically, and further, I truly feel part of a family at Campbell. I anticipate my son finishing his primary training at Campbell, as well as, my younger daughter. I firmly believe it is a worth-while investment in my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

We began our journey with Campbell 4 years ago. At the time it was 'just a preschool for our oldest' until she reached kindergarten age. Now we are planning on sending our children to Campbell through Middle School. Our children are always challenged, but never pushed too far. They were far beyond MO state curriculum as set by DESE before even reaching 'kindergarten age'. More importantly they are learning how to function in a community with respect, trust, honesty, and problem solving skills. They have a self-discipline and concentration I have yet to observe in any other school during our family's search. In addition, Campbell has a highly diverse population with many bi- and tri- lingual families. This rich cultural diversity has enriched our children's education and our family's appreciation for the world. Thank you Campbell Montessori School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

I wrote one of the previous glowing reviews, but unfortunately I no longer recommend the school. I feel that the classroom enrollment is now too large without additional staff. I also worried about classrooms being unsupervised when teachers stepped out to the restroom. I was unsatisfied with the teacher's insistence that my daughter's academic progress was normal, when we do not believe she has progressed over the past year. We were unhappy with the administration's emphasis on fundraising and the annual auction. We felt the school displayed favoritism towards those families that participated most in those events. Lastly, we felt that bullying was not dealt with and that there was a lack of discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

A fabulous school. Highly trained and committed staff. Wonderful learning environment, outstanding diversity, unlimited educational opportunity for the children, a true place to grow holistically. But it is so much more then the education. It is the self worth, confidence, respect, and discipline that the children have. A tremendous learning opportunity, I have 3 children at Campbell, and will keep them there. I am thrilled they are adding a middle school. Miriam Gutting is respected around the country in Montessori. She runs the school brilliantly, and has a real calling to child development. Do yourself a favor and visit the school, meet with Miriam and look at the opportunity for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

Not the best, but about average for Montesorri. Certainly not the best within a 100 mile radius- that is a poor statement based on the St. Louis metropolitan region. We have worked with Montessori schools in 3 states and this school is very different. Much more strict (counterintuitive for Montesorri concept) and teachers were not as well trained as either most Montesorri schools or other private schools. Our child attended for 2 years and did learn along the way. But it was not a positive experience overall. We changed to another private school program and were incredibly pleased with the structure, support and enthusiasm- and our child's learning progress reflected the more supportive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

My kids attended this school for three years from age 2 to 5 and developed an excellent foundation for kindergarten entrance. Right now my kids are currently ranked in the top 10% of their respective classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 77%
Black 17% 17%
Asian 16% N/A
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Received a grant from ABLE for Middle School (2011)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Do the Right Thing (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Paul Gutting
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI
Fax number
  • (636) 477-6075

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Summer programs are available for students who are currently enrolled.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
50
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
50

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$6000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
financial aid based on work

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Whitfield
Lutheran High
Chaminade
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3880 Shady Springs Ln
St. Charles, MO 63301
Website: Click here
Phone: (636) 477-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harris Elementary School
St. Charles, MO



St. Cletus School
St. Charles, MO


Monroe Elementary School
St. Charles, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT