Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William Lummis Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted December 31, 2015
- a parent
Be kind school and they recognize the kids at events and throughout the year. They need a full time counselor to help out the principal with students well being and Be kind programs

William Lummis Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2015
- a parent
I disagree with the bullying reports not being investigated. The letters and phone calls went home first...then an investigation, which was unfounded...thank goodness! It is called being proactive. I have had great experiences with the school even when my child has been on the discipline side. The administration is fair and really lets the parents share their side of the story.


William Lummis Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I am unsure about the integrity of this school based on the staff that runs it. I have lived in Las Vegas my entire life and have always dealt the CCSD, and this is by far my WORST experience ever.

William Lummis Elementary School 2

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I am extremely disappointed in this school's office staff. They are so rude and unprofessional and very insincere. Every time some one answers the phone they seem inconvenienced to answer a question or help. I have heard this from other mothers as well. This is the first year my children have attended this school and from day one trying to get them registered there was a joke. After calling over the summer at least 20 times when they should be open and being stared at through the windows by the office staff at the front doors and them not even acknowledging the fact that I was standing there 30 minutes before they closed, I knew I should have not enrolled my boys there. I am not sure why they seem to think they are better then others and why they don't have time to address or help the PARENTS of the students who attend their school is beyond me. I called to check on my kids and I was told she couldn't check on them. She couldn't even tell me if my kids were in their classrooms....WHAT!? NO WAY! What if there was ever an emergency, good luck dealing with that staff or being able to check on your child! I will be moving schools next year without a doubt. This is nothing against the teachers..just the office staff needing to learn some people skills.

William Lummis Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
I have mixed feelings about this school's integrity as a whole. Ever since the new anti-bullying policy was passed, teachers have to write a referral letter every time a child tells them they have been bullied whether it's true or not. The letters are then sent home with no investigation and a lot of unanswered questions. The report could be completely false but it's not up to them to determine it


William Lummis Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
My husband and I have loved having our children attend Lummis. We came from another school nearby and when we moved, I was only hoping for equal standards. I can honestly say that Lummis has exceeded our expectations and the teachers that my children have had over the past two years have brought me to tears a few times with the love they have for the students. They seem to truly enjoy teaching, making a difference and what I love most is that they care about every student in not only their own class, but every class. Every teacher treats the kids with respect and it is obvious that it comes from the heart. We are very happy!

William Lummis Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a community member
I'm I am one of the students that go to lummis and ever since kindergarten lummis has always been there for me. Lummis is an amazing school was amazing teachers. I have learn so much in the past year there. But now since I'm leaving to 6th grade I hope we will always exceeds our standards and show students to be kind thanks you so much lummis. ?

William Lummis Elementary School 3

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
For the area, this is definitely the best school. We came from another state with a much better school. My daughters were both in accelerated classes but the schools here (Lummis & Becker) refused to test them, look at their previous scores, or put them in accelerated classes. As a result, my daughters have not been challenged to the extent they should/could be. Still, if one is going to live in Vegas, this is undoubtedly the best place to be. And the teachers, staff, parents, & kids are wonderful.


William Lummis Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2012
- a parent
We love Lummis elementary school. I have 2 children attending Lummis who are very different in their talents and abilities. each one is challenged by their teachers and given the proper attention to maximize their learning. The gate program has been very good and the battle of the books is a fantastic program to encourage literacy. Lummis has been a wonderful school and We are very happy with the school, teachers and administration.

William Lummis Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
As a teacher and parent, I highly recommend this school and community to anyone looking to move to Las Vegas or within Las Vegas. The staff is amazing and the school community as a whole is so inviting. If you are looking for a school for your kids to feel safe, happy and receive an outstanding education, Lummis fits all the criteria.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William Lummis Elementary School
9000 Hillpointe Rd, Las Vegas, NV  89134
(702) 799-4380
Last modified William Lummis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
William Lummis Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top