Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dean Lamar Allen Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
To all the teachers who have been shoved into a tiny box for teaching TOO many students with what appears to be ZERO support from ADMIN, Please know we long term parents KNOW and SEE the HORRIBLE decline this school has made, and we see your unhappiness through those smiles!! I am so sorry you have ended up in this nightmare after so many AMAZING years!!!!

Dean Lamar Allen Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
The whole curriculum seems to have fallen apart, how can these teachers teach like they used to when they spend all day getting the BAD APPLES to stop interrupting. If you look at the school scores, you will see they are dropping by the second!! That is not the teachers fault! A lot of them are the same as before, just no support from the top. The grades are a direct refection of "Admin" END OF STORY


Dean Lamar Allen Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
When my first child went here (6 years) The First 5 years were PHENOMENAL! The school was run to be just this! If there was a problem from one student to another, it was not tolerated!

Dean Lamar Allen Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are great, the administration is terrible. The principal loves to be the center of attention. She wears silly costumes, she stands out in front of the school and waves to oncoming cars. But, he does not help the students cross the street or supervise the dangerous parking lots. She is not concerned for the safety of the students, she just cares about her own ego.

Dean Lamar Allen Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
The front desk and the principal verbally abuses students and encourages them to cower to authority.


Dean Lamar Allen Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
The front desk and the principal are rude to students and parents alike. They are totally disrespectful.

Dean Lamar Allen Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
The school does not promote compassion. The front desk and the principal are arrogant bullies.

Dean Lamar Allen Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
My two children enrolled at Dean Allen last year and will remain until they graduate to middle school. We were extremely pleased with the school's community feel. The kids' teachers were excellent and really got to know and understand their personalities and learning styles. We think the principal is excellent -- not only did I see her at every single event I attended, but the one time I met with her individually I found her to be a fantastic advocate for my child. The new GATE teacher (started in 2013) is EXCELLENT. I hear raves about him from parents in every grade level he teaches (3-5), and my kids loved his lessons. Of course no place is perfect and we do wish some of the teachers would ramp it up in math and that there were more options for recess play (there's no soccer!). But overall we are very happy and supportive of the school, it's administration and teachers, and yes, even the personable and always-on-watch janitor!


Dean Lamar Allen Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a teacher
It is just a shame that there are individuals who write inaccurate information about our school, Dean Allen. I have been through all administrations at Dean Allen and have such a warm feeling about each and every Principal who has been at the helm of our school. It is true that there is different leadership styles. This doesn't make for a bad family environment. It has been my honor to be a part of one of the best schools in our school district. Our current principal is the most magnificent individual. She is loving, caring, fair and always available. I recommend for anyone who has issues with our school to address your concerns with our current administration and see how available she is to you before you decide to write your thoughts here. If you have issues with others i.e. office staff, teachers, or any other support staff please give the principal the opportunity to address your concerns. You will find her quite capable of making decisions in the best interest of our children who are our No. 1 priority at Dean Allen.

Dean Lamar Allen Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Three of my children attended Dean Allen. They have all graduated from there so I do not know the current principal, but I have heard wonderful things about her from friends. The office staff is the same now that were there for the majority of the nine years my children went there. They are all very hard working and put the students' needs first. The custodian has been there forever. His always positive attitude is so wonderful, for the students, teachers and the parents. My children and I have so many wonderful memories from those precious years. We are so thankful we moved to that area of town.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dean Lamar Allen Elementary School
8680 West Hammer Ln, Las Vegas, NV  89149
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (702) 799-4580
Last modified Dean Lamar Allen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top