Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
4-5 & Ungraded
Public
Piscataway, NJ
Students enrolled: 551

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Martin Luther King Elementary School 1

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
It is a decent school with decent teachers, they do their job. However it has a drop off problem. The school has a huge loan in the front with curved driveway with a width of 1 and a half bus. No cars are allowed inside the driveway during the drop off times. there is a miniature parking close to the school with a tiny opening to the street. which does not allow a car to enter when another one is exiting. Therefore the street is always clogged during drop off times. Parents stop where they find a spot on the street and hinder the traffic even more. The place looks like a war zone between 0740 and 0810. They can easily widen the existing driveway , or build a second one for cars only parallel to the bus driveway. Or widen the opening of the parking and make it to be only a loop for drop off . however seems it is easier to hide of the problem. What I fear is that if that might be their way of solving other problems too.

Martin Luther King Elementary School 2

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
My child is in the 4th grade and as parents who seek to become involved in our child's education this school greatly disappoints us. Teachers are more interested in CYA than the kids. Several requests for written instruction as to what goes on in the classroom have been ignored. Follow up requests in person seem to generate only poor excuses. What's the big secret? If parents become aware of what takes place during the day we could further support those efforts at night. A one page homework assignment takes my kid 5 minutes to complete. It appears that as long as the kid gets an AVERAGE grade the teachers are ok with it. This way they can focus on kids in class that are struggling. Parents who seek to help should never be made to feel in the way...especially when it is clear that the present efforts to assist ALL are not being met. We moved here because of the school system. While Knollwood was great, MLK has lots to improve on


Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2011
- a parent
My Son went to MLK from September 2010 to Feb 2011 and he loved his school. We moved out from Jersey but my Son will never forget MLK.He made great improvement in his academics. The Teachers were great and he made some very good friends there.

Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
We moved to Jersey in the month of Oct 2007 and by that time my daughter lost a full month of school, yet due to extra care and motivation from the teachers she was able to do good and catch up by the end of 3rd term and she has also started liking the school and the teachers. She is already missing her school and classmates and is looking forward to get back to school after the summer vaccations.


Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Martin Luther King Elementary School 4

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Martin Luther King Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Martin Luther King Elementary School 2

Posted December 02, 2004
- a parent
My son went to MLK recently. It took him couple of months to dislike it very much. Although his previous schools he liked a lot. Being a quick learner, he needed additional challenge from a teacher, and was never given it. Academically this school is not bad, just a generall attitude towards students is - do what you are told to and we will leave you alone. At the end of the year my son's dislike for the school turned into hatred. Now he went to another school, and likes it very much. I believe the staff needs to pay attention to motivation and personal approach to children. It is a rather big school, but some other school of that size still manage to do so.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin Luther King Elementary School
5205 Ludlow Street, Piscataway, NJ  08854
(732) 699-1563
Last modified Martin Luther King Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Martin Luther King Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top