Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 60 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


67 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 2

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
This school is mediocre at best. My daughter is in CIG (Center for Intellectually Gifted). She is not being challenged and is capable of much more!

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a community member
i go to this school and i love the teachers are so nice and have excellent degrees as what kind of teacher they are. It might be a challenging school but still very good. Cunningham rocks


Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
This school is great for 8th graders. They have a after school high school preparation class that will help them to prepare for High School Entrance Exams. The school is very up to date with technology as well. A plus in a modern day society where you have to be experienced in technology.

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a community member
I go to this school and it is a really good school. Sure, it's a challenging school but it is awesome. All of the teachers know what their doing and the 8th graders are not bad, maybe a bit annoying, but not very bad. The principal is also really strong and has great leadership. I have challenging teachers, but they explain really well with what they are talking about. Also, there are so many after school programs you could go to.

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
Great School. So many excellent teachers. One social studies teacher, Ms Frederick is the strictest and *smartest* teacher my son has ever had, she gets him, it was an authentically challenging class for my gifted child.


Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted April 29, 2012
- a community member
i really love this school because there are so many programs and it's fun to learn. I hope that when everyone reaches 6th grade, they will join this school

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted September 01, 2011
- a community member
I love this school. I am a student in cunningham and the teachers are determined to help the students strive and be the best they can. it feel like i belong there and the after school programs are the best. so many extracurrliclum activites and such a great learning experience. any child who goes into cunningham would tell what such a awesome school it is.

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 1

Posted October 27, 2010
- a community member
Full disclosure: I am not a parent. I am a family friend, taxpayer, and wife of a 25-year veteran DOE educator/administrator, and I am concerned about the deteriorating quality of our schools. This school employs and supports incompetent, inappropriate teachers who are clearly disillusioned with their profession; not all, but enough of them to discourage a student assessed (previously and currently) as gifted, perceptive, respectful, helpful, diligent, and eager to learn. Student has been repeatedly castigated, academically and personally, for asking basic classroom questions - circumstances confirmed by the teachers themselves. Parental involvement to achieve resolution is actively discouraged by administrators, as well as teachers. Shameful.


Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 1

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
ABOUT 12:30 PM MY SON AND BUNCH OF OTHER STUDENTS WAS TAKING OUT FROM THE CLASSROOMS AND EACH OF THEM RECEIVED A LETTER STATING THAT THEY ALL GOT DISMISSED AND TRANSFERRED TO THE OTHER SCHOOL, WHICH IN MY CASE IS LOCATED MORE THAN 4 MILES AWAY, WHERE THIS IS MY DISTRICT ZONE SCHOOL WHICH IS ACROSS THE STREET. WHEN I ENROLLED MY SON TO START THE SCHOOL I AS A PARENT WAS NEVER NOTIFIED ABOUT ANY CHANGES OR EVEN A POSSIBILITY TO CHANGE SCHOOL FOR MY 12 YEARS OLD SON IN THE MIDDLE OF THE SCHOOL YEAR(SEE THE LETTER THAT WILL BE FAXED TO YOU). THE SCHOOL PRINCIPLE AND DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION SHOULD MAKE ALL THE CHANGES PRIOR OF THE AMBITIONS OF THE KIDS. THAT'S WHY THE SCHOOL STAFF START THEY WORK ONE MONTH EARLY PRIOR OF THE KIDS STARTING THE SCHOOL. I THINK THAT THE SCHOOL MUST DISCUSS ANY CHANGES

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
This is a wonderful school and a very nurturing academic environment. The principal is terrific and the staff are courteous and helpful. The parent/teacher coordinator at the school is a particularly valuable asset and source of information and assistance.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham
1875 E 17th St, Brooklyn, NY  11229
(718) 645-1334
Last modified Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. Top