Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 1,867
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 64 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

46 reviews of this school


Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a community member
Hi I'm not in this school but,I recently got accepted to a cig program in my school.I'm transferring and I applied for this school.If I get in will they still put me in a gifted class.please reply.

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
The three years my son has spent at Cunningham were so great to him. Cunningham really brought out his personality. I remember in the beginning of the 6th grade my son had a problem, he thought he couldn't really fit in with the type of environment that Cunningham had. It was a change. But by meeting new types of people and living around this environment, made him cherish the years he had spent there. The teachers were so cooperative. It wasn't hard for him to make friends either. The sports programs are also varied. That was a big part for his time there as well. It brought out his competitiveness. Overall if you are looking for a school that has teachers who listen, a nice environment, and a comfortable learning area, this is definitely the school for your child.


Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 2

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
This school is mediocre at best. My daughter is in CIG (Center for Intellectually Gifted). She is not being challenged and is capable of much more!

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a community member
i go to this school and i love the teachers are so nice and have excellent degrees as what kind of teacher they are. It might be a challenging school but still very good. Cunningham rocks

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
This school is great for 8th graders. They have a after school high school preparation class that will help them to prepare for High School Entrance Exams. The school is very up to date with technology as well. A plus in a modern day society where you have to be experienced in technology.


Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a community member
I go to this school and it is a really good school. Sure, it's a challenging school but it is awesome. All of the teachers know what their doing and the 8th graders are not bad, maybe a bit annoying, but not very bad. The principal is also really strong and has great leadership. I have challenging teachers, but they explain really well with what they are talking about. Also, there are so many after school programs you could go to.

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 1

Posted February 05, 2013
- a community member
This school is full of garage you know why this school have knife and they like attacking 5-6 grader

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted January 29, 2013
- a community member
This is by far one of the best middle school's in ny...love this school and thats where i learn how to play handball...the teachers are great..I am of class 98' wilmy jean hey if any of old friends from class of 98' are on here give me a buzz wilmii25@gmail.com...long live cunningham


Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
Great School. So many excellent teachers. One social studies teacher, Ms Frederick is the strictest and *smartest* teacher my son has ever had, she gets him, it was an authentically challenging class for my gifted child.

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham 5

Posted April 29, 2012
- a community member
i really love this school because there are so many programs and it's fun to learn. I hope that when everyone reaches 6th grade, they will join this school

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham
1875 East 17th Street, Brooklyn, NY  11229
(718) 645-1334
Last modified Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jhs 234 Arthur W Cunningham Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. Top