Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public district
Rockville Centre, NY
Students enrolled: 1,098
 

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Side High School 4

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
SOUTHSIDE High School is a wonderful institution for learning. I have 3 children in this district, one who has already graduated, one who is in her senior year and one who will begin next year. I have always felt my children received a top notch education here! Most teachers were helpful and caring. The one thing that I feel would give South Side greater recognition, would be to have more minority students involved in extra curricular activities and even allow them to start up clubs that appeal more to them. I would like them to look into a Step team club or even have a class on African-American studies. There is still a small divide when it comes to this area. I have asked some of the students why they don't do more activities and they say because they don't feel welcome and they never get chosen to be a leader. Have you seen an African-American student be a leader for Red and Blue?! I will never leave this wonderful school district until my last child has graduated. Thank you teachers and administrators for doing a wonderful job!!

South Side High School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a student
Currently, I will be going into my sophomore year at SSHS. Lots of the teachers are very good, however you do see some teachers who aren't as good. They have a huge amount of extracurriculars, and the food is better than the middle school. Kids have more freedom, as you are allowed to wear hats, carry backpacks, chew gum, and leave campus during your off periods. They also have great choices for electives (Go computer graphics!). Overall, I love it.
1 person found this helpful


South Side High School 5

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
Excellent in all ways. Great principal, teachers and kids. Excellent program and the scores you report are way off.... SSHS is tops with a Regents diploma rate of 99%. Best integrated district in the country.

South Side High School 5

Posted September 22, 2012
- a parent
Terrific school, wonderful teachers, great curriculum. There is good school spirit and a responsive staff from the top on down.

South Side High School 5

Posted June 16, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


South Side High School 1

Posted June 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

South Side High School 4

Posted May 20, 2007
- a student
From outside the town, I've heard that this has an accelerated curriculum, but as a freshman attending it, the school really doesn't prepare you well for Regents and SAT Subject tests, instead there are review classes which cost extra money, which is just silly. The school tends to spend its tax money on things they don't need such as a $2000 SmartBoard, instead of a) reinforcing test prep IN classes b) fixing the girls' bathroom on the second floor. The teachers aren't all that great either, there is a noticeable difference between teachers of the same grade, some far better than others.

South Side High School 5

Posted May 26, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


South Side High School 3

Posted August 25, 2005
- a former student
School only cares about those excelling in their classes. If your child has a learning disability or low motivation they usually are lost in the crowd. Highly overated, the principle is controlling and tends to cross boundaries into the home.

South Side High School 5

Posted May 26, 2005
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Side High School
140 Shepherd Street, Rockville Centre, NY  11570
(516) 255-8944
Last modified South Side High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Side High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top