Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roscoe Central School 5

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
You don't realize how good something is until it's gone. We recently moved away from RCS, where my son had been going since Pre-K. and we I miss it so much!! The teachers, the community. You feel like a part of everything your child is involved in. The teachers are so easy to talk to and after a while feel like friends. You honestly feel like they care about your child. Plus there is so much to do ... Talent Shows, after school programs, summer programs..... I HATE MY SONS NEW SCHOOL NOW THAT I KNOW WHAT IT FEELS LIKE TO HAVE HIM IN A GOOD SCHOOL! NO OTHER WILL EVER COMPARE! WE MISS YOU RCS!!!! <3 <3

Roscoe Central School 4

Posted October 15, 2009
- a parent
Under new leadership, the school system seems to be heading in a promising direction. Our new principal is working hard to create a vision for the school and to identify both strengths and weaknesses in school programs. Teachers are very dedicated and caring; however, in some cases, teaching methods could use updating. In some grades, there is a heavy reliance on published worksheets and traditional teaching methods. Other grades use differentiated instruction and authentic assessments to move students beyond basic skills toward higher-level functioning . Tests scores have been improving. More parental involvement is definitely needed for the school to reach its full potential. There is a safe, supportive environment in this school building.


Roscoe Central School 3

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Roscoe Central School 4

Posted March 12, 2009
- a parent
Just to update, we have a new principal. She is doing a fine job. She is looking at things that need to changed and working to change them. She seems to be liked by the kids. She is very approachable and is very good at answering parents questions and concerns. Roscoe is a very good 'small town' school. When we walked into the school for the first time, I felt it was a good and safe school, very close knit and family/community involved. I have been very happy with our move here and very pleased with the school. They were right there for my learning disabled child and went above and way beyong our last school- the progress is WOW.

Roscoe Central School 5

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Roscoe Central School 1

Posted December 03, 2007
- a parent
This school has a severe lack of discipline. The principal lacks any leadership skills. It also seems the teachers are on thier own with teaching and discipline rather than a collective effort.

Roscoe Central School 2

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
This small school has tremendous potential, but there is a striking lack of leadership. Programs focusing on bullying, character development, and enrichment for high-achieving students are not in place. With 265 students, this school should be able to deliver a private education in a public setting. Parents need to be more active.

Roscoe Central School 2

Posted October 27, 2007
- a parent
Disciplinary actions are ridiculous. They need to enforce the rules to all students. There is very little teacher/principal respect by most students. Sometimes don't feel it is a safe environment.


Roscoe Central School 2

Posted June 30, 2007
- a parent
Care the eductaion that special needs child are getting in Roscoe is severely lacking. There is also not after school activities beyond sports. The arts department is almost nonexsistent.

Roscoe Central School 5

Posted February 08, 2004
- a parent
Great school! however the principal could use a class himself on understanding and kindness

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roscoe Central School
6 Academy St, Roscoe, NY  12776
(607) 498-4126
Last modified Roscoe Central School is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roscoe Central School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top