Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Martin Middle 1

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
My son has been going to this school less than 4 months and has been through it all. Kids here are allowed to bully other kids and teachers look the other way with no intentions to stop it. my son has gotten into fights that he did not start. Based on what I was told from the teachers. He has gotten beaten in the head on different occasion in his science class all the teacher had to say was " boys will be boys" He is in the 7th grade the bullying goes from the class To the hallways. I asked for a change in classes to try to resolve the issue they did it however, This school has groups of thugs that run in packs. I don't wake my child up every morning to get dress to go to a war zone. that is the feeling I get. I will be taking him out of this school very soon! but beware if your child attends this school. the principal has never contacted me on any incident! I'm outraged

James Martin Middle 1

Posted June 06, 2015
- a community member
This is the worse school in town. The teachers are rude, disrespectful, don't teach and really don't care at all. The staff is unhelpful and extremely inappropriate! They do a very poor job at keeping the parents informed. I also feel they are quit ignorant when it comes to the Hispanic race, it is assumed you are Mexican if you are Hispanic and labeled early on as an immigrant. School is a place to learn and this school does not do that! I warn you, don't send your child here, you will regret it!


James Martin Middle 4

Posted May 01, 2015
- a community member
There are students this year who want to learn and there are students who don"t. I'm doing well and I've been on A/B honor roll all year. The teachers are nice and teach the kids who want to learn. They help me with my questions. There are disruptions but the teacher can send security to remove the student, or they can write the student up. Socially I do great, I'm nice to everyone and have lots of humor. Coming to an conclusion, I think this school is okay .........{ tbh idk what happens in 7th & 8th because I'm in the 6th grade }

James Martin Middle 1

Posted December 13, 2014
- a community member
I went to school at James Martin Middle from 6th grade to 7th grade. I am currently a 8th grade student at another school. but anyway the children at the school are rude, mean, and very disrespectful to adults. The teachers do not want to educate students and are very violent. For example we had a teacher that would often threaten us if we made her mad The teachers also do not communicate with students or parents at ALL. All throughout the years I went there my parents only got 1 email from a teacher. The administration doesn't focus on grades , they focus on punishments more than anything. I was bullied in the 7th grade by a girl in my dance class. She stole my clothes, wrote on my things with lip gloss, and she cursed at me on the last day of school and told me it was her that had been bulling me the whole year. The Principle did nothing even though I came to him in the past. The school has a major bullying problem and I am not the only victim of it. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL AT ALL.

James Martin Middle 1

Posted May 19, 2014
- a community member
I attended James Martin in 6th grade & I am in 11th grade now. The teachers werent TERRIBLE, but they were certainly not good. take it from a student that has actually attended this school: the kids were horrible. if you're child is in anyway "different" or sensitive or EASILY INFLUENCED, don't let your child go here. I was bullied relentlessly because of the way I looked, the way I dressed, the way I acted. I had absolutely no friends at all and the teachers were indifferent. the kids cussed, they were loud & rowdy & sometimes there would be no teacher in the classroom at all and it was just chaos. in no way does this school prepare you for high school. I developed bad habits. the teachers didn't care, nor did they make any attempt to help me. Please, if you're a parent, make the effort to find a GOOD school for your child & not just dump them anywhere. A good school early on will definitely make an impact on how well your child performs in high school and so on. and if you are a teacher, make the effort to help your students. don't just stand & watch them get bullied, be receptive. But until things get better, don't let your child go to James Martin, for their sake. just don't.


James Martin Middle 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a community member
James Martin middle is a great middle school . We are moving toward to become legendary . Yes our test scores may not be as good but we are trying to help that but taking rig msl's every week , we retake until we pass this has helped because the eog's are coming up . The teachers are great , they make sure each student is in a comfortable learning environment . An 8th grade teacher recently won student of the year at our school out of our zone . We are taking steps to become legendary .

James Martin Middle 1

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
Teacher harassed and bullied the students and the principal and assistant principal rather discipline the student and not the teacher. They are not focus on education and better there school

James Martin Middle 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a community member
Teachers can only do so much. What are you doing? Whatever it is you can not blame the school.


James Martin Middle 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a community member
James Martin Middle School reminds me of the new movie about Steve "Jobs". Forget the past & focus on the future with new leadership! Transform the education world with optimimism & a clear vision. Chuck Sawicki VP NC SCORE Certified Mentor

James Martin Middle 1

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
All the kids there are bad and ghetto and the teachers can't even control them everyone there is always saying bad words and they talk about drinking and smoking weed

Nearby schools

James Martin Middle
7800 Ibm Dr, Charlotte, NC  28262
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. (980) 343-5382
Last modified James Martin Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top