Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-11
Private
Matthews, NC
Students enrolled: 635
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carmel Christian School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Overall, we had a good experience with the teachers. Most were superb. The college guidance counselors are OUTSTANDING.

Carmel Christian School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Academically, the school is very strong. I can not deny that. The problems come in the social area.


Carmel Christian School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Again, the affluent kids learn that their money will buy their way around. They don't need to work hard; Just pay their way to all kinds of privileges and recognition. A handful of less affluent students will learn about determination and persistence because their parents will teach them to be real fighters and will not allow them to quit. That's where these students develop their grit --at home!

Carmel Christian School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
SOME students do develop a sense of compassion and caring but, again, it is mostly among the less affluent kids. The affluent ones learn that money will buy you a Lexus and make you the king and queen of the school. Let others do the hard work.

Carmel Christian School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
The school teaches that, if you have money, Mommy and Daddy will get you whatever you want. If you don't have money you have to accept The Lord's "will".


Carmel Christian School 5

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
We have 2 kids there, 3rd grade and kindergarten. It is a wonderful environment where our children have enjoyed learning. The teachers are compassionate and are excellent Christian role models. We feel that the kids are safe there in the loving environment. There are opportunities for them to excel in reading with the AR program and programs such as math olympics, spelling bee and speech meet have helped stretched them. The dress code is strict, which we like. Have had no problems with bullying, which is not tolerated there. Glad also that it goes through high school. Highly recommend especially when the children are young and impressionable!
2 people found this helpful

Carmel Christian School 1

Posted June 30, 2014
- a parent
We pulled our child after attending CCS for three years. Our child was taught through worksheets and very little actual teaching. The admin actually stuck up for their teacher after we complained about unprofessional behaviors and emails. Our child attended a different school this year and needed special attention to items that were never even covered at this school. Very disappointed regarding the academics and staff.
2 people found this helpful

Carmel Christian School 5

Posted September 17, 2012
- a parent
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this school! It has everything my high schoolers could ask for with a secure, "family" feel . The teachers really know their students and take time to help them grow academically, socially and spiritually. The fine arts department is rapidly growing along with the sports program. We are very happy here.
1 person found this helpful


Carmel Christian School 5

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
Very pleased with the academics, loving, nurturing environment, loving staff, and it all starts at the top! Wonderful, loving, involved principal! We look forward to our children growing up in Carmel Christian School! :0)
1 person found this helpful

Carmel Christian School 3

Posted August 31, 2012
- a parent
Very upset with this school. Took my daughter out because she has been verbally bullied by her peers for years. No support from administration. I expect more from a Christian school
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carmel Christian School
1145 Pineville-Matthews Road, Matthews, NC  28105
Last modified Carmel Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-11
Carmel Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top