Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Putnam City West High School 4

Posted June 20, 2016
- a community member
As a former student and coach I would rate P.C. West as above average. The school faces many socioeconomic issues. As with many Oklahoma schools it often lacks the necessary funding and support. However, what makes P.C. West a good school is it is full of faculty that truly care for the students. These faculty are often the only support many of the students have in their lives. Overall the faculty does a great job of making due with the little resources it has. I am glad I went to P.C. West

Putnam City West High School 5

Posted November 10, 2013
- a parent
Putnam City West is a fantastic neighborhood school. The climate there is one where students feel cared about and safe. both of my children recently graduated from the school and I would not have sent them anywhere else. the faculty really cares and the music department is second to none!

Putnam City West High School 3

Posted April 06, 2010
- a teacher
I taught at West for a few years. The experience you walk away with depends on the classes you taught. The school does a lot with what it's been given...however, as a parent I wouldn't send my kid to that school. I'd have huge safety concerns and it's easy for kids to slip right through the cracks due to it's population and the nature and magnitute of behavior issues they have.

Putnam City West High School 4

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
I have had two kids graduate from PC West and a senior this year. The faculty are professional and go beyond just teaching. The students are caring and generous individuals. The PTA works hard to help where needed.

Putnam City West High School 4

Posted May 31, 2009
- a parent
I Love This School. It is amazing. Good athletic programs and educational programs.

Putnam City West High School 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
I graduated from putnam city west and I really enjoyed my time there. It was a great school then and I think it has returned to that same status now. I have had 1 child graduate from West and i have 1 who will be a senior next year and 1 that will be a freshman, I have watched this school go from ok to really good in the last few years. I have tried to be as involved as I possibly can and I have encouraged my children to be as involved as they possibly can especially when it comes to school spirit. I have seen a big change in that department. Kids are really showing that they care. The leadership of the principals and the teachers is a tremendous asset to this school they are all doing a very good job. I would recomend this school highly.

Putnam City West High School
no rating

Posted March 31, 2009
- a student
When I was in school in 81 no one offered College to me. There was no , one on one with the teachers no tutors. So my grades failed in some classes. It is not a wonder they do not get a very good ratiing.

Putnam City West High School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a teacher
If there's an area where PC West doesn't excel, we're working on it. In sports, the arts, academics and every other aspect of school, West is improving. Our test scores meet and sometimes exceed district averages thanks to teachers who work in teams to improve performance. Our musicals are second to none and our sports are creating quality human beings while kicking off a winning tradition. Watch out for West, we're only getting started.

Putnam City West High School 5

Posted June 07, 2008
- a teacher
West is a great school. There is no perfect school anywhere and you always have to take into account socioeconomics and student population when looking at test scores. West teachers give their heart and soul to their kids. We show up for them. The admin is so positive and encouraging. It's a great place to be.

Putnam City West High School 5

Posted March 11, 2008
- a community member
I attended PCW for my freshman and half of my sophomore year. It's an amazing school. The teachers are wonderful & really helpful. The drama, music, and sports departments are also great, especially the drama. The academic aspects are improving and so are the students. The school I am attending now (Owasso Mid-High School) really pales in comparison.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Putnam City West High School
8500 Northwest 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK  73127
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (405) 787-1140
Last modified Putnam City West High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top