Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Owasso Mhs

Public | 9-10 | 3 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2012

As a former student, now adult (I am now 23). I can say my future children will not be attending school in Owasso. I was bullied constantly from 7th grade on. The staff never did anything about it. Even when it had turned into a larger problem sophomore year, I was told by the administrative staff that "Words don't hurt." My parents were never contacted. No one cared. There are so many kids, and its all about money and Owasso's reputation. If your child isn't a star athlete, or cheer-leader, you are invisible. My younger sister is going through high-school and is encountering the same problems. You're just a number to Owasso. A larger number of teachers are aggravated and impatient (probably because of the overload). Talent show auditions always had biased results. End of the year projects were cheats for the kids who were lazy all year (English: scrapbooking, Geometry: kite building). Senior year, our High-school principal said in a end of the year presentation that students who would enroll in TCC would amount to nothing. Please keep in mind, senior year, many were already enrolled, and because they couldn't afford to go to an expensive university for their basics.


Posted September 7, 2012

We are so happy with Owasso Public Schools. All Administrators and Teachers have always been available to us when problems have arisen. One of my children is on an IEP and he has had excellent support. We also llove and support the Pride of Owasso Band. Two of my children have been in the band and it is second to none in terms of teaching and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

School administrators are harsh disciplinarians who are more concerned to make an example of a child's wrongdoing than actually find a reasonable and constuctive solution. They discourage and reject ANY dialogue with parents. Impossible to work with. Some teachers take a long time to grade assignments and most do not regularly communicate with parents at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

I'm so glad to live in the Owasso School District! The schools are amazing and the Mid-High is no exception. My children have received a top-notch education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

Very annoying students! Not very good. Parents aren't very involved either. I would say that this is the worst school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2010

Great Math program in place for struggling students. Tutoring is free!! Most of the teachers are very good at returning emails and phone calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Love the School system, love the Teachers - would like to see more Parent Involvment! Very Gifted Teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Exceptional English department and an amazing Algebra program
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

596 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

583 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

536 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 59%
Native American 17% 16%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Black 4% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A61%
Special education 8%N/A15%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8800 North 129th East Ave
Owasso, OK 74055
Phone: (918) 274-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Collinsville High School
Collinsville, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT