Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Houston High School 5

Posted November 14, 2015
- a student
Houston High school has been an all around amazing experience for me, the faculty and staff is very organized and orderly. The classes are very advanced and in the end pay off. As long as you abide by the rules and if you're respectful towards staff you will have an excellent experience. Named one of the number one high schools in America by Newsweek. That's an amazing achievement in my opinion. But if you chose Houston be prepared for lots of studying. Once again every class is taken seriously and you'll only succeed if you try. Good luck! :)

Houston High School 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Love this school! The Honors Academy really prepares students for college. The service component is a great addition to what they are receiving academically.


Houston High School 4

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
Our third child now attends Houston High! Our first two graduated from here. We love this school!

Houston High School 5

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
We moved to Houston High School this year from another Shelby County School. My child's experience has been nothing but Amazing! The rigor of the classes, academic drive of students and enthusiasm of the staff have made this, possibly hard move, awesome! We would highly recommend Houston High School to any family looking for a top notch public education. We would put it up against any private school education!

Houston High School 1

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Drugs, weapons and thugs. Enough said. Parents need to take seriously the things that happen. Don't stick your head in the sand.


Houston High School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
Academically, the most objective guage would be the students average ACT score for seniors. Houstons are VERY high. Probably the highest of Shelby county schools. Possibly better than many private schools. My son graduated two years ago and was ranked 125 of around 430 students. And he had a weighted GPA of 3.7. He had a 30 on his ACT. I have a Journalism major from an SEC school and he was a better writer in High School than after I graduated from college. He had a 34 in English on his ACT. He hated his 9th grade English teacher. She was brutally tough teaching classes as hard or harder than most community colleges. Guess what. He is an English major in college and it is all easy for him now. My kids feel safe there. The teachers, as always, vary in quality. Every semester they are going to have one mediocre teacher and every year or two they will have a bad one. Just like every other school in the world. But, on the whole the teachers range from good to fantastic. We were very happy. The administration is accomodating. If you child is emotionally and academically prepared there is a good chance you experience will be very good and you will be pleased.

Houston High School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
Houston has an excellent honors and AP classes. Teachers seem to care and theeducation is excellent.

Houston High School 5

Posted October 12, 2011
- a parent
Houston appears to be an extremely good school overall; it has been fabulous for my boys (currently a junior and a freshman) so far. It is large enough (1600+) that I can't speak to everything, but I know that parental expectations and support are both high, leadership is outstanding, and counselors and teachers willingly work with parents and students to achieve great outcomes. With regard to some earlier comments: the band does take a lot of after-school time during marching competition season (Sep-Oct), but not as much as a sport would; and while a student or parent might be unhappy with some perceived weakness in the Spanish courses that does not mean the school is weak in foreign languages - judging by a neighbor's result, there is a strong program in French, and the German teacher, a native speaker, is incredibly dynamic and effective (there is also Latin, but I don't know anything about it at Houston.) Sadly, the great Geometry teacher mentioned last year (and she was great) has retired, but my junior has been very well-served in every Math class through Calculus. There are some outstanding private schools in Memphis, but my sons are getting a better education at HHS.


Houston High School 5

Posted January 29, 2011
- a parent
Houston High Schools is a good school, better than any other school in Shelby County.

Houston High School 2

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
This school has great English and Geometry Teacher, but really weak in foreign language (spanish) and AP Math/physics teachers. So watch out Kids who are going to be a Freshman or a Junior. Great Band program but lot of after school time is focused on this. Good luck current students and new students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Houston High School
9755 Wolf River Blvd., Germantown, TN  38139
(901) 756-2370
Last modified Houston High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Houston High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top