Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Halls Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Mrs. Hargrave, she has been there for my child when things may be hard to deal with or when she has just needed someone to talk to.

Halls Middle School 4

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Everyone seems to be on top of things. When ever we have a problem, the teachers seem to take care of the problem.


Halls Middle School 1

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
If you're not from a certain background, certain teachers will bully your child in class in a verbal way, like verbal abuse, but more subtle, so you can't do anything about it. I'm extremely disappointed in this school and the way they do things. This woman has embarrassed my child in her classroom full of his peers several. times and I can't do anything about it. I'm currently trying to find an alternative school for him. I would homeschool him, but I'm a full time student myself, so that's not possible. He's in the 6th grade. It's his first year out of elementary school and he is dreading school every day because of this teacher. If he's not doing well, I expect them to notify me, but instead they verbally abuse him in class. It's not acceptable. Not all of the teachers are bad. He has a few that are great teachers, but 2 that are extremely bad teachers.

Halls Middle School 5

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
This school is Amazing! Everyone from staff to administration are focused on the children's success. Parental involvement is a must though. They will not reach out to communicate with you if you neglect to communicate with them though. Stay involved.

Halls Middle School
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a community member
HMS has a great staff that clearly has the goal of establishing the best possible learning environment that a student could use, there is absolutely No Child Left Behind in this school!


Halls Middle School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2009
- a student
I luv this school the teachers are great and I have sooo many friends.

Halls Middle School 3

Posted November 25, 2008
- a parent
I do believe that a lot could be done to make Halls Middle Schools better. It will need to be done through parent involvement. The teachers need to be help accountable for there lesson plans and their counterproductive attitudes.

Halls Middle School 5

Posted October 30, 2008
- a student
This is the best school i've ever been to and i've been to a lot, halls is my true home school included. I'm a seventh grader. By the way i wish the teachers wouldn't be so demand!


Halls Middle School
no rating

Posted March 11, 2008
- a student
i am in 9th grade but i went to halls middle school and they are a really goo school..i liked it alot the kids are nice most of the teachers are nice..and they are VERY strict on rules as to disipline wise..but if i could redo my 8th grade year i would so go back to hms...

Halls Middle School 5

Posted April 22, 2007
- a student
Halls Middle School is a great school! I am a sixth grader and they have really welcomed me! Go Halls Red Devils!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Halls Middle School
4317 East Emory Road, Knoxville, TN  37938
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (865) 922-7494
Last modified Halls Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top