Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Piney Flats, TN

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mary Hughes School 4

Posted February 16, 2012
- a community member
I am a former student of Mary Hughes. I absolutely loved it, I learned so much that had really helped me through out highschool and college as well. The teachers really know the material and have always been willing to help if i needed. Although when it comes to sports some of the coaches did tend to have favorites when it came to making the team so that i felt was very unfair. Otherwise, I would recommend this school to anyone and everyone. Its safe, good learning environment, and the teachers are awesome.

Mary Hughes School 5

Posted January 29, 2012
- a community member
For the record parents n here have not attended k-8 , and I have never had a problem the teachers not carring they are all great. And as far as academics go teachers do a great job if your kids arent doing a good job its no ones fault but theirs. sincerly Mr. Attractive


Mary Hughes School 2

Posted August 23, 2011
- a parent
I am frustrated with is school. How could a teacher show Sponge Bob during a guidance class. What educational value does this add for our children when they are supposed to be learning how to be good people with morals? The school does not have a caring attitude towards its parents and students.

Mary Hughes School 1

Posted January 15, 2011
- a parent
Being a parent transferring my child from Bluff City to Mary Hughes, I have been very disappointed. My child was making amazing progress in his academics, until we started at Mary Hughes. In almost 2 school years, the only thing my child has learned is through private tutoring. I was actually told by a teacher that it would be best to "give up on this year and hope that he learns next year." I could understand if this was at the end of the year, but this was before the first report card came out. The teachers say that they care, but if your child has any struggle at all, they just give up. I would send my kid to the dog pound to get a better education.

Mary Hughes School 5

Posted November 14, 2010
- a parent
As a parent of two students at MHS that started mid-semester two years ago. I just want to give credit where credit is due. They were very welcomed by students and staff. On an academic note my kids are much improved because of the personal attention given to each student. Thank you for a great experience for students and parents alike.


Mary Hughes School 0
no rating

Posted January 31, 2010
- a parent
My daughter and I just moved down here to Piney Flats in July of 2009. She started going to Mary Hughes School in August and she absolutely loves it! The staff and students have welcomed her, and treated her as though she had been there all along. I want to thank Mr. Mason and teachers for everything. Mary Hughes has been GREAT!

Mary Hughes School 5

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mary Hughes School 0
no rating

Posted October 27, 2009
- a student
Mary hughes is the smallest,but best school in sullivan county for many reasons. Sports are a huge part in kids and teenagers lives.Im in eight grade at mary hughes and i play 3 sports and i love them all. I have wonderful teachers who are very caring and wqhen u see them around the community they stop by and be friendly. Thses parents that have rated it dont go to school here and they shouldnt say its a bad school because they dont go here! mary hughes is the best school in the county! hessman.


Mary Hughes School 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
We had our son at Mary Hughes School from Kindergarten - 8th grade and he loved it. He loved the teachers. Especially when he got in middle school. His favorite teacher was Mr. Walker. He would come home everyday and always tell us what went on in Mr. Walker's class. He would always say that Mr. Walker made learning fun. As a parent, I know personally how much Mr. Walker cares for his students and how he goes beyond what is required of him to help his students learn. He was our son's baseball coach and he bought our son cleats and a glove because he knew that we couldn't afford it but he knew our son really wanted to play because he loved baseball. The other teachers at Mary Hughes are wonderful also. It is a very family oriented place. Highly recommended!!!!

Mary Hughes School 0
no rating

Posted March 12, 2009
- a parent
I found that this school is perfect for our son. It is not over crowded and the teachers there are very family oriented.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mary Hughes School
240 Austin Springs Rd, Piney Flats, TN  37686
(423) 354-1835
Last modified Mary Hughes School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mary Hughes School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top