Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
There is simply not a school in Dallas that would care more about your child than ORLS.

Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Christian values are the heart of this school. Every week there is memory work that reinforces honesty, integrity, and love.


Our Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Our Redeemer Lutheran School--there is not a better place to send your child everyday. It feels like an extension of family when I walk through the halls. Every teacher knows every child. From Latin to Garden to the accelerated reader program and the option of above grade level math--many opportunities to thrive academically and socially while in a loving, Christian environment.

Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
The teachers care so much. Every teacher (from all grades) know every child in the school. Because they know the children so well, they are able to reach them on a personal level.

Our Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
We have had nothing but positive experiences at ORLS and both my children were taught by the first grade teacher whom they love. We believe in a very straightforward approach and we have always found the administrative staff and teachers to be responsive to any questions or concerns. There was a recent review done by the school asking all parents to offer their opinion on the curriculum (strengths and weaknesses), this suggests to me that there is a constant effort to evaluate and improve.


Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
The 1st grade teacher is a nice person but seems to struggle with a few issues. The second grade teacher was great but she left the school,

Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Too much bullying is allowed & overlooked. The Pastor & Principal will not address bullying if a minority is the victim.

Our Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted December 08, 2014
- a parent
We love this school. Our child has been here since preschool and is now in the upper grades. Academically excellent: in looking at his work he brings home, I see that they focus on conceptual learning, logic, comprehension. His Iowa Basic Skills scores validate this approach. They make learning fun! Already my child is interested in the basics of physics, chemistry, logic, He loves the optional Latin class. Whole-child-focused: I walked into his PK4 class one day, and the children were having a lively discussion of what the word "appropriate" meant, what they would do if they saw or heard something inappropriate, etc. I see his classmates have impressive self-control, respect for boundaries, ability to converse with adults, etc. Christian love: we don't attend church here, but we were welcomed in, and I've watched the children through the years reach out to the new kids in the class and help them feel a part of the class.


Our Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter went to ORLS from K-6th. She is now in 7th at a college preparatory school. After the 1st 6 weeks, she is getting all A's. I attribute that to the great foundation ORLS gave her.

Our Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
We have been part of ORLS since 2002 when we started our oldest in the PreK 4 program. Our son graduated from ORLS and our two daughters still attend there. The administration and faculty at Our Redeemer have been wonderful. Our children are nurtured and cared for beyond the bounds of teaching academics. Their spiritual and emotional growth and confidence as well as their academic growth has been phenomenal. In fact, recently, our son was diagnosed with a serious illness and we have received many emails and cards from the faculty of the school even though he graduated 4 years ago. Teachers are busy people but when they take the time to sit down and write a card or email out to support our family for a student who has long since passed - what more can you say? If anyone is looking for a loving, nurturing and academically challenging school, you must visit this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Redeemer Lutheran School
7611 Park Lane, Dallas, TX  75225
(214) 368-1371
Last modified Our Redeemer Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Our Redeemer Lutheran School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top