Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Luna Elementary School 2

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
I had a daughter who attended this school for three years. During that time her teacher noticed that she was having a difficult time. They put her in tier 1, no progress. She began tier 2 and still showed no progress. She was having a problem with staying focused when working alone. I had a meeting with the principal, counselor, substitute teacher, tier 2 math, tier 2 reading teacher and another teacher from last year. However, no one told me I was having a meeting with 6 people. During this meeting I was showed homework that my daughter did and her test scores. The Principal said she thought it was because my daughter’s birthday was late and I should consider holding her back. I told her I don't think it’s because of her age, I think it’s because she has a problem with staying focus. She told her substitute teacher to let her do her homework again and if she fails then put that grade and don't help her because she doesn't need to pass if she can’t do the work. If you can just imagine how I felt at that time when those words came out of her mouth. This new principal never interacted with my daughter so how could she say that without figuring out the REAL problem. It felt like it was bash your child day. Like oh she can’t do the works so fail her and hold her back. I brought a note to the counselor prior to this meeting from my doctor requesting testing. The principle and the counselor told me they no longer did testing. However, when I called the Garland Independent School District she told me they did do testing and to contact the diagnostician at your child's school. Well, I did and she told me the same thing that Garland no longer does testing but could set in my daughters progress meetings with me. I called GISD and asked, what I do if everyone is telling me they no longer perform testing. She couldn't really answer my question, almost if she was afraid to tell me something. So I hung up! I took my child out of that school and put her into another school in the GISD, which they offered to test my daughter but I already had an appointment with Scottish Rite Hospital. I am so glad my daughter is finally getting the help she deserves. If the principle and the counselor would have just giving me the necessary resources, I would still have my child here. Instead, they brushed it under the rug and were set on having her repeating the second grade.

Luna Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
I would like to day thank you to her 1st grade teacher and her substitute teacher in second grade.


Luna Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
I honestly think it just depends on the teacher. Her teacher in first grade kept in close contact and I felt as if she was actually trying to help my daughter.

Luna Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
There are spelling words and vocabulary words each week. Spelling words 15-20 and vocabulary 6-8. She had to know all words in four days. Once a week math.

Luna Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
I don't feel that they did with my child. However, when my daughter had a substitute teacher for the last couple months of school I saw some improvement in her work.


Luna Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
If your child is not having a problem with school they do. If you have a child who is a distraction because they are having a problem with completing their work then no.

Luna Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
They didn't have compassionate for my child when I told the Principle and Counselor my child may have a problem with staying focused when working along, I thought it was mental. The Principle was seat on mu child repeating her current grade. I was told that they no longer test their students but my doctor told me otherwise and GISD. I also had a lady from a different school tell me the same thing happened to her child at but after fighting for months she received testing.

Luna Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
I had a daughter who attended this school for three years. During that time her teacher noticed that she was having a difficult time. They put her in tier 1, no progress. She began tier 2 and still showed no progress. She was having a problem with staying focused when working alone. I had a meeting with the principal, counselor, substitute teacher, tier 2 math, tier 2 reading teacher and another teacher from last year. However, no one told me I was having a meeting with 6 people. During this meeting I was showed homework that my daughter did and her test scores. The Principal said she thought it was because my daughter’s birthday was late and I should consider holding her back. I told her I don't think it’s because of her age, I think it’s because she has a problem with staying focus. She told her substitute teacher to let her do her homework again and if she fails then put that grade and don't help her because she doesn't need to pass if she can’t do the work. If you can just imagine how I felt at that time when those words came out of her mouth. This new principal never interacted with my daughter so how could she say that without figuring out the REAL problem. It felt like it was bash your child day. Like oh she can’t do the works so fail her and hold her back. I brought a note to the counselor prior to this meeting from my doctor requesting testing. The principle and the counselor told me they no longer did testing. However, when I called the Garland Independent School District she told me they did do testing and to contact the diagnostician at your child's school. Well, I did and she told me the same thing that Garland no longer does testing but could set in my daughters progress meetings with me. I called GISD and asked, what I do if everyone is telling me they no longer perform testing. She couldn't really answer my question, almost if she was afraid to tell me something. So I hung up! I took my child out of that school and put her into another school in the GISD, which they offered to test my daughter but I already had an appointment with Scottish Rite Hospital. I am so glad my daughter is finally getting the help she deserves. If the principle and the counselor would have just giving me the necessary resources, I would still have my child here. Instead, they brushed it under the rug and were set on having her repeating the second grade.


Luna Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school with great and caring teachers! My son has a learning disability and the teachers worked so well with him. The office staff has always been polite and helpful during my encounters with them.

Luna Elementary School 1

Posted May 14, 2013
- a community member
-school with no windows in classrooms -yelling teachers !!! -cafeteria menu:pizza,big johns,hotdogs and candies promote good work. =preparing kids for penitencery / fema camps

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Luna Elementary School
1050 Lochness Lane, Garland, TX  75044
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (972) 675-3040
Last modified Luna Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top