Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
326 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Garland Christian Academy
Grateful to: Parent

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
For opening our eyes on how they treated them as a past student, and how we should have listened to them.

Garland Christian Academy
Develops respect: Agree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
When the school is all they know they will be taught to respect in a fashion that suits the staff.


Garland Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
They push you out the door if you do not meet their standards. With them being able to orchestrate their own curriculum students are left behind.

Garland Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Fairness, no. The kids get beat in all sports causing them to leave the school and not play sports elsewhere. Five friends from High School left and only two continued playing sports.

Garland Christian Academy 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a community member
My husband and I are grandparents of a K4 child and a 2nd grader at Garland Christian Academy. We are thrilled at the calibre of teaching that our little ones are getting. The eldest, my granddaughter has become a voracious reader at a level far beyond her years and spouts scientific and historical facts constantly now. My grandson. is now reading first grade books, excelling in art class and telling us what everything means in Spanish. He also has so much more self-confidence than before attending GCA. More of all, our grand kids are learning civility, responsibility and charity. You can't put a price on these things.


Garland Christian Academy 1

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
Very terrible experience. If you don't belong to Lavon Baptist, they treat your child(ren) very poorly. The teachers have no degrees or college whatsoever and would never be able to "teach" anywhere else (except at a church school where they are a church mom).

Garland Christian Academy 2

Posted August 06, 2014
- a community member
Having graduated from GCA in 2012 and leaving to go to another small Christian school, I was extremely disappointed to find that I was behind many of my other peers in my classes. Being near the top of my class at Garland Christian, I figured I would soar in college. It has been a grueling struggle through both math and science courses. The unfortunate truth is, as of 2 years ago, GCA did not prepare me for college.

Garland Christian Academy 5

Posted July 17, 2013
- a parent
All of my children love GCA! We have students in preschool, elementary, and the secondary and all of them have grown so much since starting at Garland Christian. The teachers show that they care for the students and the administration provides a loving yet firm environment for the students to excel. Thank you GCA for all you do for our family! We love all the new ideas and excitement around the school!


Garland Christian Academy 5

Posted May 04, 2013
- a parent
I am so pleased with GCA !! Our K-5 child is so far advanced than others I have met. GCA is a family orientated school & they treat you as such !! We will stay there until she graduates !!..The teachers are exceptional !!

Garland Christian Academy 2

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
I'm glad to see someone else is seeing and feeling the same thing(s) I have been seeing and feeling this year. This was once a very nice school. I still think the teachers are good and the overall curriculum is good. However, there seems to be a major breakdown in the HS 'office'. The principal would rather laugh off every little thing and just tell everyone 'let's all be friends' while the counselor seems to be on a warpath about inconsequential things. I would think drinking and sex would be two things a Christian school would deal with seriously. Apparently, I was wrong.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garland Christian Academy
1516 Lavon Drive, Garland, TX  75040
(972) 487-0043
Last modified Garland Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Garland Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top