Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charles E Patterson Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
I had a hard time deciding which one to choose since it would only let me choose one. But since my oldest child got there 5 years ago, I can't thank EVERYONE at this school enough. They have done so much for not just my kids, but every single student. They care about them as if they were their own kids. My children have done so wonderful at Patterson simply because the staff cares.

Charles E Patterson Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
The principal at Patterson doesn't mess around. They have "CAV core values" and they work hard every day to teach our kids to be respectable and productive citizens. They are pretty amazing!


Charles E Patterson Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
I have had kids at this school for the last 5 years now and I still have one that is yet to get there. All of the staff and faculty take such great pride in the school and they go out of their way to learn as much as they can about their students. The principal herself knows almost all of them and they are always so welcoming, loving and encouraging. This school is definitely a place that I am glad my kids got to attend during their educational career!

Charles E Patterson Middle School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Patterson Middle School is by far the BEST middle school in Killeen! The principal, teachers and staff are WONDERFUL with the kids and the parents. They love those kids as if they were their very own and it shows. They take such pride in their school and it is a great learning environment. I have had two kids attend this school with two more on their way and I refuse to move until they have all finished up their middle school years at Patterson. I have a special needs child who struggled in elementary school. But the principal at Patterson told me all I had to do was get her there and that they would take good care of her and they did! She made and stayed on the honor roll for the 1st time in 5 years! I could go on all day about how amazing this school is. They are truly the prime example of what educators should be. They set the standard..it they set it high!

Charles E Patterson Middle School 3

Posted June 19, 2014
- a community member
I don't agree with the rating 8 more like a 6 1/2. I went there 7 and 8 grade and it's a lot of people for a middle school. Art and theatre arts program great and sports are pretty good. I was in a theatre production, NJHS, Step team, and tennis and I had a BLAST ! Don't care for my 7th grade teachers but love my 8th grade teachers !!!! (Ms. Dickens, mrs. Cummings, mr.spears, ms. Brooks, mr. Edwards, mr.schlojoff, and mr bark ( principal ) All Amazing !!


Charles E Patterson Middle School 5

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
I have been thoroughly impressed with Patterson Middle since my son has attended since 6th grade. The communication between teachers and parents is outstanding. His teachers go out of their way to ensure the students are succeeding, or at least have multiple opportunities to succeed. The extracurricular activities and sports programs are superb. The principal is phenomenal, visible, knows students by name, and truly cares for her faculty, staff and students. I cannot say enough good about his middle school!

Charles E Patterson Middle School 4

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
As a proud parent of my student, I really appreciate the above and beyond care, the faculty gives to the students at Charles Patterson Middle School. Very impressed, of the devoted time given to the students to assist them in advancing academically.

Charles E Patterson Middle School 2

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
I was excited for my son to go to this school his first year of middle school since all the reviews were great. Unfortunately, it has been a terrible first year. My son called me crying and bleeding and told me his teacher told him he needed to go to the ER. No one walked him out of the school or ever called to tell me what happened. The only story I received was from a crying, bleeding 11 year old. Five staples later, I complained to the Principals secretary. I received a call apologizing but the english was not clear. 4 doctor visits later, sent note to PE class which clearly states 4-6 days of recovery, then return to activity. 1 month later, the teacher still wants another note. Not going to doctor for the 5th time! The teacher who was supposed to be supervising when my son was hurt can go. To top it off, the Spanish teacher thought it her place to inform the class Santa claus wasn't real the day of christmas break. Lucky he didn't ask when my 7 year old was in the car! I understand he is at the age where he needs to know, but so not her place.


Charles E Patterson Middle School 5

Posted October 30, 2012
- a parent
THE Charles Patterson Middle School definitely is the BEST of the BEST. Ms. Balzer and her staff are extremely supportive and very involved. The activities, academics, and environment is friendly, welcoming and definitely a place for your student to shine and enjoy what they are learning. They push the kids to GREAT levels, and I am thankful...that they aren't there for a paycheck, but there because they TRULY care about the success of their students.

Charles E Patterson Middle School 5

Posted June 10, 2012
- a parent
I just graduated from this school and if you are looking for a middle school in KISD you should pick this one!! Firstly, the surroundings of this school are beautiful and the school's number #1 priority is safety. Then the school not only strives to get their children a good education, it also strives to get the children a growth mindset and wants their students to become life-long learners. Also the school is VERY clean compared to the other KISD schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles E Patterson Middle School
8383 Trimmier Road, Killeen, TX  76542
(254) 336-7100
Last modified Charles E Patterson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Charles E Patterson Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top