Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
THIS IS WHERE CAREFUL PROFESSIONAL ASSESSMENT IS NEEDED, I PROFESS THAT THIS IS A SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION FUNCTION TO GUIDE TO THE SCHOOL TOO MAKE THE STAFF OF EACH SCHOOL TO BE HIGHLY EFFECTIVE AT REACHING GOALS FOR EACH SCHOOL!

A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
IT'S PART OF PANDA PRIDE. ALL BASSETTE STUDENTS LEARN TO BE RESPECTFUL. OF TEACHERS, STUDENTS AND THEMSELVES.


A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
Bassette is in my estimation the model of a neighboorhood school. Iam a grandparent, so this is not the only elementary school, we have been involved in. All parents, grands, school board members and council members should spend a day in the life of thier schools to see the "real" school! Let's help our schools= they are so important to our kids and our country! It reall does take a village to raise a kid. And the schools are a "huge" part of our villages. Wm E Anderson Sr

A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
BASSETTE IS A GREAT SCHOOL. ALL THREE OF MY NOW GROWN KIDS WENT TO BASSETTE. AND BASSETTE CONTINUES TO BE A MODEL OF A NEIGHBOORHOOD SCHOOL! THANKS TO MS. RICKI, SHE HAS BEEN "OUR" GABBI'S TEACHER FM PRESCHOOL THRU FIRST GRADE. KID ON THE SPECTRUM NEED LOVE AND STABILITY. THANKS MS. RICKI FOR TAKING CARE OF GABBI! GABBI IS REALLY BLOSSOMING NOW!! REV. WM. E. ANDERSON SR.

A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School 4

Posted June 01, 2014
- a parent
My child attended this school and she loved her teachers and new principal. Every time I entered the building I saw their dedication. Just need to put out the students who are severe behavior problems.


A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2013
- a community member
I recently visited Bassette Elementary School and was very impressed with the staff's interaction with parents and students. I felt welcomed as soon as I walked through the door. Everyone was so friendly. The front desk is tiled with student art work and it was very inspiring. The school was decorated for the season and the children's work displayed outside the classrooms. I was impressed with the administration's interaction with parents. I had a wonderful experience at Bassette and hope to visit again soon.

A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2013
- a parent
I see great things for Bassette's future I'm thrilled with the administration in place. I'm hoping they are kept there to see in 3-5 yrs where we stand on the testing scores etc .... Too often schools systems move switch and uproot the needed staffing for a school to continue to excel. When walking in that school this year you feel the dedication from stafff. They want each child to succeed and be the best they can be. I defiantly think this school could be a stand by me kinda movie brought to life. I hope we as parents can stick together and continue to witness this happen before our eyes. Our kids deserve the very best and this year that's what they have!!!!

A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School 4

Posted November 19, 2013
- a community member
I am a community member who recently was invited to participated in Real Men Read at A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School. I was greeted by 2 well-mannered young students who took me to the Family Engagement Center for drinks and goodies before escorting me to the classroom where I was reading aloud. The first graders in the two classrooms I read to were such good listeners, active participants, and so well behaved. This is the 4th year I have read aloud to students at Bassette and every time I have experienced such a warm reception from the staff and students? i can't wait to return and I encourage other community members and parents to visit Bassette elementary soon!


A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
My child's school is getting better. They received a new principal during he last 9 weeks of school and he seems to be Awesome!!! I believe any complaints will be addressed appropriately and in a timely manner. He definite makes me feel that he has the best interest for the kids. i like how the school has improved over the years. There are still some teachers that, that I feel are only their for the paychecks. I believe the school could improve by getting the non caring teachers out, and replacing them with teachers who care.

A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 21, 2010
- a parent
I have several children who have attended Bassette, and two currently there. There was a time when I thought it was wonderful. Now I am not so sure. The new principal can not relate to us parents. When I tried to talk to her she appeared to busy and several times she refers me to the assistant. I feel like she is not running the show but putting on a front. They should close Bassette or find a new principal.

Nearby schools

A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School
671 Bell St, Hampton, VA  23661
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (757) 727-1071
Last modified A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top