Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Richmond, VA
Students enrolled: 1,117

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Huguenot High School 3

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
One of the better RPS schools. My daughter loves this school. There is a no-tolerance for bad behavior rule here.

Huguenot High School 2

Posted July 05, 2012
- a community member
I am happy that there will be a new principal. The outgoing principal cared only about himself and test scores. Let's hope the new principal actually aids the teachers and keeps the kids focused. There are some fantastic teachers at this school who have been consistently thwarted in doing their jobs by bad administration. It is hoped that this will improve.


Huguenot High School 2

Posted June 09, 2012
- a parent
My son is a freshman at this school and at the beginning of the year the did not have a schedule, his bookbag and leather jacket was stolen out of his locker and of course the security camera saw nothing; and every other day there is a fight in the building. The principal promise the ninth grade students that if they passed their SOLS he would let them take a trip to six flags, but then he decided to cancel the trip without notifying the students. Besides his awesome guidance couselor Dr. Ward, and some of his teachers, I would not recommend this school.

Huguenot High School 5

Posted July 14, 2011
- a community member
I personally graduated from this school with an Advanced Studies Diploma. The teachers are just fine. They take extra initiative if the child will let them. I do know that a lot of the students do come from poorer neighborhoods. I did, and there where no problems in the school. But one main issue is that Richmond City schools need more funding. The state needs to take some of the money from Henrico and Chesterfield and use it for the poorer kids, not just the 'rich kids'.

Huguenot High School 2

Posted December 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Huguenot High School 4

Posted March 23, 2009
- a parent
School is what you make it. You really have to know your child and what's right for him/her. Huguenot was fine for my son, however, he has a strong personality and does not succumb to peer pressure. No matter where your child goes to school, as a parent, it's your responsibility to know what is going on -- know what's available; know where to find help in case you need it; make sure homework is getting done; make sure your child knows what is expected of him/her; attend parent/teacher conferences; get to know the teachers; get to know the guidance counselors; involve your child and yourself in extracurricular activities that you can participate in together and individually; and don't expect the school to do all of the work.

Huguenot High School 5

Posted February 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Huguenot High School 5

Posted November 07, 2008
- a community member
I think this is a great school


Huguenot High School 4

Posted July 15, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Huguenot High School 2

Posted April 24, 2008
- a student
This school can be way better if it just had more involvment from teaches and parents. I wish it was better. I feel like I'm missing out on so much of my education. Not very diverse.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Huguenot High School
7945 Forest Hill Ave, Richmond, VA  23225
(804) 320-7967
Last modified Huguenot High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Huguenot High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top