Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kempsville Elementary School 2

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
Teachers and most staff are great! Front main office staff is unpleasant and rude not like the amazing teachers at all which is a good thing those attitudes displayed by those ladies are not around the kids.

Kempsville Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
Best school in Virginia Beach by far, only one that has worked with my son that has ADHD and got him to pass all his SOLs with flying colors! Staff, teachers, parents, kids, and PTA rock!


Kempsville Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
Great School. Teachers are very involved and actually care about their students success. HIGHLY RATED!

Kempsville Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2013
- a parent
Both of my kids went to KES from K-5. They LOVED it! I loved it. The kids were all very supportive of each other, right up to graduation. It felt like a little family and I knew nearly every kid by name by the time they left.. The schools is welcoming and warm and teachers and parents are very involved in the success of the kids. This is a great school, despite the rating. Don't hesitate sending your kids here.

Kempsville Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2013
- a parent
We are a military family and finally out of 3 states, these are the best schools my children have attended. I have been pleased with all of their teachers over the last two years. There are lots of extracurricular activities for the older kids like Student council, strings, lots of parent and PTA involvement. Buying a house in this school district was a great choice 7 years ago and remains a great choice today.


Kempsville Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2012
- a parent
Great school, atmosphere, teachers, principal, and learning curriculum. Blessed to have had 2 children go through this school.

Kempsville Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 21, 2008
- a parent
Fabulous school! Teachers are intune with the children. The overall support at the school is great too. I highly recommend this elementary school.

Kempsville Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 21, 2008
- a community member
Great school. My grandchild attends. Parents/grandparesnts are welcome to help in the school. It is a wonderful school overall.


Kempsville Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughters attend this school. I'm continually impressed with the professionalism of the teachers and staff. My daughters teachers have gone above and beyond for them on many occasions. My girls love school. I am confident that this is one of the best schools available to my girls.

Kempsville Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 23, 2008
- a parent
Kempsville Elementary is a wonderful school and it grieves me to read the one disgruntled parent remark. It's so not reflective of the whole. KES has a solid commited team of professional educators who successfully educate and inpsire our chidren daily. I am very pleased with this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kempsville Elementary School
570 Kempsville Rd, Virginia Beach, VA  23464
(757) 648-2720
Last modified Kempsville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kempsville Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top