Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ocean Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is starting the 5th grade this year and I have been so happy with OLES. The professional staff, administration, active PTA, and extracurricular offerings are all fantastic.

Ocean Lakes Elementary School 2

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
Not a great experience thus far and we just started this school. Good is that the PTA is good and the special teachers like gym, art and music ect are very well liked by the kids. Cons are the administration doesn't seem to be very professional or educated in their profession. Over all the school needs to work on better communication and friendliness. There are far better schools in the area and if you are thinking about moving to Ocean Lakes and have children in elementary maybe look at the other schools in the vicinity. I only wish we would have taken heed to the other reviews as now that I am living here, I understand.


Ocean Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful school with wonderful teachers. The PTA is very involved with parents and with events at the school.

Ocean Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
Love this school! One of the best schools my children have ever been too! Teachers are hard working and on top of their students. The staff all know me by name even though I am not a regular at the school. I highly recommend this school!

Ocean Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
Great school, my children learned a lot and had great experiences. The teachers and staff were all very polite and helpful.


Ocean Lakes Elementary School 3

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
My kids attend OLES. I feel this school, as well as all other schools in VA, are limited due to intense focus on the SOLs. They tout academic excellence, perhaps in regional perspective they are above average. I can't count how many times I've heard one of the teachers say, "well, we can't do that because its not on the SOLs. They don't need to learn that..." The school emphasizes teaching to the lowest common denominator. As for issues with staff, administration... Dr. Linda Reese, the new principal, is my all-time favorite educator. She is FANTASTIC and genuinely cares for the education and well being of EVERY child. Unfortunately she can't be everywhere all the time, so old habits creep back into existence. Since she has taken the position at OLES I have seen improvement overall with curriculum emphasis and teachers. I am so sick of the way the children are treated in the cafeteria. They are barked at, the lights are turned off and the children forced to eat in dark silence when it's too noisy. I have also witnessed a class compelled to walk through the hallway with one hand over their mouth and the other in the air forming a peace sign. I hope I never see that again.

Ocean Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
I was hesitant on sending my child to OLES after reading some of the earlier reviews. I must say, I LOVE this school and so does my son. Our experience from registration to class room and teacher involvement is top notch. Great job to the front office and the everyday heroes, our Teachers. Proud Parent of a First Grader

Ocean Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
I have two sons. They are 14 and 7. Both attended/ attend Ocean Lakes Elementary and I can't say enough about how wonderful everyone is there. Year after year, it has been fantastic. Teachers, staff, etc.


Ocean Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
My child attends Ocean Lakes Elementary. He had an amazing experience in Kindergarten and loved school.OLES has top notch teachers and administrative staff. My sons teacher was always there to communicate with any concerns I had during the year. Most importantly this teacher made a big impact on my sons life. She was very patient with him and always encouraged him to do his best. The principal, assistant principal and student support team is AMAZING. I can't thank my sons teachers, Speech Therapists and Administrative team enough for all their dedication with all students at OLES. Its important for parents to get involved with the schools activities, PTA and take time to be apart of your child(s) classroom too.

Ocean Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
This is our 3rd year at OLES and I can definitely say that with our new principal, OLES is 10 times better that the last 2 years. I can only imagine it going up from here. Teachers are caring, staff is going the extra mile and I am pleased with the effort, it is certainly paying off.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ocean Lakes Elementary School
1616 Upton Dr, Virginia Beach, VA  23454
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (757) 648-3200
Last modified Ocean Lakes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top