Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Oak Harbor, WA
Students enrolled: 465
Before care: No
After care: No

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oak Harbor Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
I am proud to call Oak Harbor Elementary my children's school. The principal is always involved in the activities in the building and is in tune to the needs of the students and the parents. The staff work well together to provide the best learning environment for the students. I love having uniforms. It creates a stress free morning and learning environment when clothing isn't the focus. I wish there was more parent involvement, but each year is different than the last and I believe we are building up our parent involvement.

Oak Harbor Elementary School 1

Posted July 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Oak Harbor Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
This school has a strong early childhood program. I like the school uniforms and some of the great extras that come with a school of choice. I would recommend this school to other parents.

Oak Harbor Elementary School 4

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
My son attended half day kindergarter at Oak Harbor Elementary. We loved his teacher (Wrightson) and the family activities (math night, art night, etc). The building, although older, is always clean and well maintained. Our son, being half day, did not use the playground. The drop off/pick up system is well coordinated for the safety of the children (much better than the other elementary schools in town). The Eagle Award system gives kids a chance to stand out for good behavior/performance. Parents are encouraged to volunteer and you always see a few around the building. My only complaint is that the PTA could vary meeting times, minot complaint indeed! Class sizes are large, but that is Oak Harbor (and Washington state) in general.

Oak Harbor Elementary School 4

Posted January 08, 2009
- a parent
I absolutely love this school. I decided to send my children here after my son spent a year at OVE, which is embarrassingly sub-par. I was very pleased with the teacher's encouragement of parental involvement. The art/music programs are wonderful. The school is clean and very well maintained. The teachers and staff are very friendly. I wasn't thrilled about the uniform policy, but it's a small concession to make for the great learning environment.


Oak Harbor Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
The OHE teachers and NWMS teachers have difficulty dealing with their students because of the Navy influences. I think the attitude of NWMS teachers is that the kids will rotate out like their parents do to a different town. So why bother to offer the kids something positive.

Oak Harbor Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2008
- a parent
I am appalled at the reviews written here. This school is awesome. I have found nothing but helpful teachers and great curriculum. Being a teacher myself in MS, I find that all the kids coming from this school are well prepared and ready for 6th grade. I believe the parents who wrote these reviews are probably parents who have difficult students behaviorally or are those parents that I deal with who need to be reassured daily that their child is special.

Oak Harbor Elementary School 1

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Oak Harbor Elementary School 1

Posted November 02, 2007
- a parent
This school has been a big let down for our family! If you are looking for high academic success for you child this is not the school to attend. Every year the school is scatter brained trying to choose a subject to focus on and every year their WASL scores get lower and lower. Safety at this school is also horrible. The one blessing at this school is the Art, Music, and PE teachers they are top notch and definately are the highlight of the school.

Oak Harbor Elementary School 3

Posted April 15, 2007
- a parent
My child attended this school for part of Kindergarten. Because it was only half days, I feel he didn't learn much. He didn't have much work to do. When I asked what he learned, he never could tell me anything. We moved to GA, and he was extremely behind the children at his new school. It took almost the rest of the year to get caught up to them. I did like the uniform policy, the playgrounds and the appearance of the building.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Harbor Elementary School
151 SE Midway Blvd, Oak Harbor, WA  98277
(360) 279-5102
Last modified Oak Harbor Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oak Harbor Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top