Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oak Harbor Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Jensen really goes the extra mile for her students and their families. My kids couldn't have requested anyone better. They still visit with her from time to time!

Oak Harbor Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
As with all schools, some teachers seem to be better than others. I think you'd be surprised just what exactly each teacher can provide to their class (above and beyond) what is expected.


Oak Harbor Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Homework is designed to reinforce what was learned in class. It should not take all night. My kids are all very busy with sports and sometimes need to make their homework up on the weekend, but it normally doesn't take very long once they have time to sit down and do it.

Oak Harbor Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Respect is taught. Ms. Day is very good about reminding students how to be respectful. (Especially just before an assembly or other important event)

Oak Harbor Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Many teachers allow students to hold special classroom jobs. These not only teach responsibility but also how other people may feel in the same position. Luckily, not all jobs are permanent in elementary school.


Oak Harbor Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
This is the schools theme. The kids repeat it regularly and seem to learn what it means.

Oak Harbor Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
My children started at OHE in Kindergarten. We liked the teachers so much that we chose to keep them there even after moving to another schools area. The teachers really seem to care about the kids, even years after they are no longer in their classroom. OHE uniforms make it easy for the kids to decide what to wear. I love the dedication this school has to its students and their families! OHE is my families school of choice!

Oak Harbor Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Root has been a wonderful teacher. My daughter will miss her next year! I'm not sure how many other teachers put the time into their students like she has. Thank you!


Oak Harbor Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Great teachers, very attentive. My kids feel safe here and they have a lot of great programs.

Oak Harbor Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The staff is extremely friendly and caring about the students. My daughters teacher keeps in contact with me regularly. The grounds are nice and I love all the new equipment they are getting. I like that this school doesn't have any of those trashy portable unit. My only gripe is that they need to provide more busses or get the pick up area under control. People having to drive down the wrong side of the road to get past isnt safe.

Nearby schools

Oak Harbor Elementary School
151 SE Midway Blvd, Oak Harbor, WA  98277
(360) 279-5102
Last modified Oak Harbor Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top