Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Madison Middle School 5

Posted January 27, 2016
- a community member
We've loved our first two years at Madison. The teachers have been dedicated, focused and supportive. More than welcome to set up consultations whenever we needed some extra guidance. The school pulls from several great elementary schools- Lafayette, Schmitz park and Alki- and seems to get a really nice group of kids. The school community is broad enough that there's a niche for everyone- band kids, sports kids, etc... And as of 2015 it's now the middle school that the Fairmount park Spectrum and App program will feed to, so advanced learners can now stay in West Seattle.

Madison Middle School 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
We are so happy at Madison. Excellent teachers and supportive community. Madison has improved greatly in the last decade.


Madison Middle School 5

Posted October 12, 2014
- a community member
It is awesome there are awesome teachers there great they have good nice kids there the 6th graders are separated from the 7 and 8th grades go to this school it i sawesome

Madison Middle School 5

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
We are so happy at Madison. The overall caliber of teachers is outstanding. Madison is a great community and the school does an excellent job communicating with families.

Madison Middle School 3

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
This school is fair but could be so much better if it had a better leadership team. One of the VPs seems to run the school and the other VP is utterly incompetent. The Principal keeps a low profile and is rarely seen around the school. The school also suffers from chronic lack of communication and often fails to inform parents of school happens, changes, etc. Very frustrating.


Madison Middle School 5

Posted December 14, 2012
- a community member
Madison was a very amazing school. The teachers are very nice and they helped out when I asked. There might have been some strict teachers but they were strict because they knew the students could do better. The principal is very kind as well. I remember when I needed to have bus service he got right to it on that day. And the spectrum program is not bad. I was in it. It was pretty good. I learned a few new things. Most of the time we would be on the lesson plan planned for that day unless someone had difficulties on yesterday's lesson plan and the teacher would make sure that student understands. I really enjoyed Madison. Students were kind and funny. I would go back to Madison if I wasn't accepted to this good private school in Shoreline. Truthfully, I would go back to Madison. If not for my mother making me stay at the private school. This school gave me such an amazing experience. I was in the music program, I loved playing in the orchestra. The jazz band, bands, and orchestras play such beautiful music. I love Madison!

Madison Middle School 2

Posted April 10, 2011
- a parent
My son is in his third year at Madison and overall, I am very disappointed. In 7th grade, I spoke with one of his teachers and mentioned my son is easily influenced by the opinions of adults and others. I asked him to give him some subtle encouragement and it would go a long way to improve his study habits and focus on school. He told me it wasn't his job to motivate the students and then chastised me for my son not completing an assignment so he was giving him zero points because it was incomplete. In 8th grade, my son had a teacher who instructed students to give others a "shameful look" if they hadn't finished homework (i.e., condoning/promoting bullying) and proceeded to tell them how they weren't going to make anything with their life. After 5 weeks of calls and emails to the teacher, principal and counselor, I finally had my son transferred out of her class. TERRIBLE! My son has had some fabulous teachers that he liked very much but he has had more than his fair share who I do not believe enjoy teaching anymore and it shows.

Madison Middle School 5

Posted November 24, 2009
- a student
I loved going to madison. Everything was great. I felt well-invited, The teachers are fonaminal, and I had fun. Unfortunatley i moved to north seattle and can no longer attend but if i could, i would. If i had a kid, Madison would be the place they would be.


Madison Middle School
no rating

Posted November 20, 2009
- a student
I am a 6th grader at this school and I am on apollo. I love how the teachers teach. they relate to the students a lot

Madison Middle School 1

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
in 6wks we're finally getting bus service....he's so far behind in classes and the teachers and princepal refuse to even write me the parent...this is the saddist example of school i have ever encounter after raising an award winning daughter....no my sons so far behind....i can't see him doing 6th grade in one yr under their tutoring....its Oct and i feel regardless of the time.....its time to choose a different school....even if it means moving...this is a sad sad school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Madison Middle School
3429 45th Ave SW, Seattle, WA  98116
(206) 252-9200
Last modified Madison Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Madison Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top