Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-8|Private
60 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 71 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cascadia School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
Danielle, the administrator, works so hard to keep this school running and true to the Montessori philosophy. We love her and all the staff. We are very happy here!

Cascadia School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
I love my boys' teachers. I will say that in Montessori since it is student centered instead of teacher centered you don't have to have the "perfect" teacher for your child to thrive. However, having said that I still have been very impressed and happy.


Cascadia School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
Homework is not given besides spelling words to practice. At first I didn't like this and thought my kids would fall behind. Boy, have I changed my perspective! I know my boys are way ahead of traditional education and they do zero homework (I had my kids tested to confirm this). Instead we are free as a family to make dinner together, build forts outside, ride bikes, play sports, collect rocks, do chores, design our "dream" house, etc. My kids are just allowed to be kids and they gain far more knowledge then if they were filling out worksheets.

Cascadia School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
In the Montessori environment problem solving is developed as the answers are not given to them or the method to get the answers is not just given to them but rather students are often left to grapple/explore/wrestle through a problem because it's just as important to develop these problem solving skills as it is to solve the problem itself.

Cascadia School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
Respect for kids, environment, the world, our classroom, pets/animals, teachers, etc. are a daily occurrence that is not only talked about but practiced. There are many examples I could give for this but one in particular I love is that students are giving chores to do at the end of every day teaching them that it is their classroom and their responsibility to care for it. It is not someone else's job to clean up after you. I absolutely love that and have seen the students foster a love and respect for their classroom and the materials in it.


Cascadia School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
Because the classrooms are mixed grades older students are given leadership responsibilities which includes looking out for and caring for young students. I have seen my older son develop compassion and empathy based on this added responsibility. I have never seen the younger students looked down upon by older students because these qualities are infused in the classroom environment.

Cascadia School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
Students are encouraged to solve their own problems with guidance from adults. This includes regular community meetings that are lead by students. At these meetings students can bring up topics and problems and discuss ways together on how to solve them.

Cascadia School 5

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
Our two boys have thrived here. They are learning and practicing executive decision making every day in this environment where they are in charge of motivating and challenging themselves (although contrary to some beliefs Montessori does hold them accountable). They have a hunger to learn and a zest for knowledge that is feed in this school. It is also a warm and caring environment where the students are surrounded by nurturing adults.


Cascadia School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
I think this is the best school. Everyone one there is very friendly and caring. All the teachers and adults know all the kids. They teach my children amazing things. I can't believe all the great knowledge they are gaining everyday. I can't say enough positive things about this school. I wish I could go to school here.

Cascadia School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has been in the Montessori environment from 15 months on. The independent thinking, fostering of individual responsibility and creativity is blossoming daily. I love the environment she is learning in and the fact that my kid loves to go to school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cascadia School
10606 Northeast 14th Street, Vancouver, WA  98664
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. (360) 944-8096
Last modified Cascadia School is a Private school that serves grades 1-8
Top