Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Public
Parkersburg, WV
Students enrolled: 334

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mckinley Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2010
- a parent
I have three children that attend McKinley Elementary. I believe the teachers go above and beyond. They have excellent teachers, a very strong minded principal, and have exciting and challenging programs for the children to excel at. I believe that this school is for anyone and not just low income children or minorities, the school is here to provide a good education, it is not here to win a popularity contest.

Mckinley Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 12, 2010
- a parent
I love this school, my kids have went there for 4 years and are doing great. They get the extra help and one on one attention they need.


Mckinley Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
Never have I come in contact with such dedicated and caring teachers. My kids have done wonderfully there and I highly recommend this school. The overall parent involvement is much lower than it could be but the teachers make up for it.

Mckinley Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Mckinley Elementary School serves mainly low income and minority children. This school provides great services to children in the community!! Please help them make improvements Thanks

Mckinley Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Mckinley Elementary School 1

Posted November 05, 2008
- a parent
The school teaches for the West Test instead of teaching for the children to learn. They get mock west test to do and cram right before the test. The West Test was designed to see if the teacher was doing a good job. Now all of them teach for the test and it doesnt accuratly portray what is learned and what was just crammed in!

Mckinley Elementary School 4

Posted August 27, 2004
- a parent
I believe that this school is one of the best in wood county and maybe the best in the state of WV. I have 2 children attending there. One in the 3rd grade and one in the 1st. grade. The teachers are very capaable educators. They seem to care about their school and their students. They are respected and admired by all students and parents. We need more teachers like them. All the teachers seemed to take time for some one on one with the students. Accademically, the students have rated very high on the acheivement tests in the past and I have a feeling that they will continue to succeed on these tests.

Mckinley Elementary School 4

Posted June 22, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mckinley Elementary School 4

Posted October 20, 2003
- a community member
I think that the principle, teachers and the nurse at this school are great. They care for the students greatly. They also have many extracurricular activities, like Fright Night and the talent show. The playground facilities are great too. Some of the parents don't show much interest, if any, in their children though.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mckinley Elementary School
1130 19th St, Parkersburg, WV  26101
(304) 420-9581
Last modified Mckinley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mckinley Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top