Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-9
Public
Huntsville, AL
Students enrolled: 279

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chapman Middle School 2

Posted April 29, 2012
- a parent
My child is leaving 8th grade this year and it has been a very trying 3 years at Chapman Middle. There are decent teachers and Dr. Waters trys but the school district has made Chapman a dumping site for many if not most of the troubled students. The neighborhood kids for the most part are bussed to other schools or the parents have simply moved to avoid thier kids attending here. Financially we could not move so my son has had to endure substandard class time due to the disruptive and undisciplined character of more than 75% of the students. The teachers have all but given up and the school year is not over yet. Several of the teachers have had thier hours split between Chapman and another school and ALL will say that Chapman is substandard compared to the other they teach at. All school have trouble but Chapman has more than most in the 6-8th grade slot. Do your research before selecting this school. If you have another option take it, your child will thank you.

Chapman Middle School 4

Posted October 10, 2010
- a community member
I went to Chapman Middle School and it was an above average school and the principal helped everybody who needed help when there was a problem with a student or with a teacher.


Chapman Middle School 5

Posted June 15, 2010
- a teacher
Great Principal Caring teachers and Staff Administration and Staff do a great job considering no parental support.

Chapman Middle School 2

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
The Principal and a few of the teachers(not many)are great !!But there are many other teachers and other non- teachers that should not be working with children!!I would not reccommend this school,not because of academics,but because of the ones who work there!!

Chapman Middle School 5

Posted April 08, 2010
- a student
The principle is the best thing about chapman middle school, he is the only reason why i loved that school so much.


Chapman Middle School 1

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
I agree the school should (not is) be a reflection of its community and it is NOT! The neighborhood kids choose to be bused to another school instead of this one when they come out of elementary. This school has failed to meet AYP many times---it needs to be better!

Chapman Middle School 5

Posted August 14, 2009
- a community member
My mom attended Chapman in the 1960's, I'm a former student, my siblings attended. Now, my God-children attend. I am proud of Chapman, its teachers and impressed by the current administrative faculty and its commitment to solid learning and student achievement. Every school is a reflection of its community and parental involvement. Chapman embraces the challenge of true socioeconomic diversity, racial diversity, and academic diversity and time after time yields scores of intelligent, confident young men and women who go on to accomplish great things at Lee High School and beyond. It is sad that so many capable parents seem disinterested in, even afraid of, giving their support, time and money to help make Chapman a desired school rather than a school for 'district' kids who have no other choice but to attend. What an terrible disservice. I highly recommend Chapman to anyone interested in moving to its district. Go Indians!

Chapman Middle School 5

Posted August 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Chapman Middle School 5

Posted June 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Chapman Middle School 5

Posted January 07, 2009
- a parent
My son is in 8th grade. He moved to Chapman Middle from the Madison County School System. Chapman is an excellent school. The teachers are involved and interested. The extracurricular activities and academic opportunities offered are above and beyond what county schools offered. We are very happy to be part of Chapman Middle School. With more parent involvement this school could be the best in the system.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chapman Middle School
2006 Reuben Dr NE, Huntsville, AL  35811
(256) 428-7640
Last modified Chapman Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chapman Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top