Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church

Private | PK-8 | 122 students

We are best known for character, faith and intellect.

 
 

Living in Palm Desert

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $211,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, August 23, 2014

This school is wonderful! Small class sizes, wonderful teachers, and a proactive administration provide a great education for our child. The best in the valley by far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2014

New Head of School is rock solid with an outstanding resume in education. She has really made a positive impact on this school. Friendly and easy to deal with if a parent has ANY concerns. School secretary also very personable. Great teachers are the backbone of this small school. Yes, it is small, but I'll take individualized instruction by teachers who really care about a child improving versus a class size of 17-32 students like other area schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

Best school in the desert hands down. We love this school! My daughter started at the PDCPC Primary School 3 years ago and is now in Kindergarten at The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church. In Kindergarten, every student in my daughter's class learned all the states and capitals. We are enrolled for 1st grade. Her reading level and math level are a year ahead of other local schools. We love the character and faith based teaching and that children from other religions attend as well. The staff and teachers are top notch. I love the emphasis on art, music etc. Children of all levels thrive. The after school activities such as pottery, cooking, etc you can't get anywhere else. We are crossing our fingers that 8th grade will be added in a year so we know where our daughter will be attending for the next 8 years. The best part is that The Academy is a very humble, welcoming, encouraging environment. Meet any of the students and you'll see what I'm talking about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

The Academy is an incredible school. The teachers are beyond dedicated to our children and we can't say enough about what a great school it is. Only recently, 18 of our students won awards in the Palm Desert Art and Essay Contest. The Academy won a third of the 55 awards given at our grade levels and this was in competition with some very good students at some very good schools!!! We were all very proud, however it wasn't at all surprising. The Academy teachers are uniquely able to consider each child's level and gifts, and with our small class sizes, are able to tailor their education accordingly. What more can a parent ask for? If you are looking for a wonderful place for your children you need to check out the Academy. You won't be disappointed and it might be the best thing you have ever done for your child or (children). Also, recently the Church announced that they were going ahead with 7th grade. So now we have Preschool - 7th grade! Many thanks go to the Presbyterian Church and their parishioners for believing in the Academy and for putting their love and support behind it. Our children are thriving at the Academy~!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

The Academy is hands down the best in the Valley! No comparison the level of achievement my child has accomplished. To see the level of respect my child has for the teachers and how eager my child is to be there every day! truly shows the commitment the teachers have on their students. The small class size and the attention to every detail growing little minds need is met at this great school! I can't think of any other school claiming the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

This is the greatest school in the valley. The most amazing and caring teachers, it really shows through in the kids. You won't find the small class sizes and great academic programs anywhere else in town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

The Academy is without question a model school in our community for several key reasons: 1) Small class sizes, 2) teachers that really enjoy what they do and convey a passion for learning that is infectious, and 3) wonderful families who are actively involved in their children s education. All of these remarkable characteristics, in combination with a faith-based curriculum are a recipe for success. Additionally, the tuition is comparable to other faith-based institutions in the area that have significantly larger student-faculty ratios. We cannot recommend The Academy more highly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

Love the class sizes - What a difference that makes. My 2nd grader is reading above 5th grade level. We could not have made a better choice. All Smiles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

The Academy is the "whole" package! The Headmaster, faculty and staff provide an environment where the children are enthusiastic to learn and know they are being cared for. The added benefit of a stellar curriculum is just the icing on the cake for us. The students are respectful because they are treated with respect. Yesterday's Academy Sunday at the church reminded me just how lucky we are to have found such a jewel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

We recently moved to the desert and chose to enroll our daughter at the Academy. Having come from another faith based private school, I can confidently say the Academy is AMAZING!!! The teachers are wonderful and care personally for each child. The curriculum is well rounded offering enrichment study in the arts, character development and Christian education. Small class sizes enable teachers the opportunity to focus on each child as an individual, pushing them to a higher standard or giving a little extra help where they may be struggling. The headmaster is very involved and leads a well run school. Overall, The Academy's small family like environment encourages a love for learning and builds deep rooted confidence. PRICELESS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

Amazing school! My child absolutely loves it at The Academy and is truly hitting her stride academically and socially. The Academy has inspired so much confidence in her and we can see it coming through both in school and out. I think the small class sizes and individualized attention really help keep all kids performing at a high level and accelerates overall progress. We highly recommend The Academy for anyone looking for a high quality academic institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

The Academy is a simply a wonderful school. The Academy maintains very small class sizes (in an era of rising class sizes in most other schools) and is blessed with an exceptional staff and great teachers, as well as a family-oriented church community and parental organization that are wildly supportive of the program -- factors that combine to make the Academy one of the finest elementary schools in Southern California. Come watch the children arrive in the morning and attend assembly -- they simply can't wait to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

The Academy provides everything we desire for our daughter beginning with an incredible sense of family from all sectors. Because of the intimate class setting each child is given the educational challenge and attention that ensures the opportunity to flourish is uncompromised. The application of the curriculum develops the entire child; intellectually, emotionally, socially and spiritually. I highly recommend this school to any parent who wants to provide their child the best enviornment for learnng and development for their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2011

The Academy truly is a a special place. From the strong leadership of our Headmaster to the excellent teachers and staff we could not be happier. Most of all there is a school house full of happy children! Small class sizes like no other school, a warm friendly and safe environment to bring out the distinct possibilities in every child by promoting character, faith and intellect. We highly recommend this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2011

The Academy offers an intimate, high quality, caring and loving academic environment for our children. The headmaster's and teacher's dedication and professionalism, in addition to the small class size makes this school unmatched in the desert. The Presbyterian pastor Doug Gerrard is a truly caring, wonderful man who genuinely cares about the school and our children and it is a true gift to our family and the entire desert community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

The Academy is a terrific school! Dr. Cansdale and his team of teachers and administrators are doing a wonderful job in helping build fine young people and providing for academic excellence. Our daughter loves The Academy. We would recommend The Academy to any family who believes in a Christian based, highly-academic and loving environment for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 26%
Hispanic 13% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Accredited by Western Association of Schools & Colleges (2012)
  • Palm Desert Art & Essay (2012)
  • Palm Desert Art & Essay (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Ann Reinhagen
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Fax number
  • (760) 773-0115

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Kickball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Kickball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Science club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The Academy is a caring environment where we will discover the distinct possibilities in every child through character, faith and intellect. Though we are a newly formed school, our staff has worked together for over 10 years.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
St. Margaret's Episcopal School
Sacred Heart Catholic School
Marywood Palm Valley

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$2000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Xavier Prep
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

47321 US Highway 74
Palm Desert, CA 92260
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 346-8195

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT