Advertisement
Advertisement

Link Community School

Private | 7-8 | 124 students

We are best known for students' successes.

 
 

Living in Newark

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2010

Link taught my child to be a critical thinker! We are sorry that the school did not go past the 8th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2009

I attended this school my self its the best . send your child here & they wil have the best opportunities , possible
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2008

Link is a great school, the teachers provide great instruction, I am very pleased overall, so glad my son was accepted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

I am am so glad I made the choice for my son to attend link, on the recommendation of his 6th grade teacher. I am very impressed, the teacher seem to really care and that is very hard to find in the Newark School system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

My daughter is in 7th grade at Link and seh is doing very well. The teacher at Link are dedicated to teaching and the schools Core values expectations are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

Since my godson entered the 7th grade he has made great improvement in all his grades. The teachers in Link Community are great and very concern with not only my Godson but with all the students. I am so happy that he is in this school because I know that not all the children are so lucky to go to good schools and really have teachers that care. Keep up the Good Work! Good luck in this coming year!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 95% 19%
Hispanic 5% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Haitian Creole
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Haitian Creole
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Maria Pilar Paradiso
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (973) 642-1978

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Haitian Creole
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • ice hockey
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball
  • ice hockey

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23 Pennsylvania Avenue
Newark, NJ 07103
Website: Click here
Phone: (973) 642-0529

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

United Academy
Newark, NJ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT