Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brockland Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 256 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

Brockland is a nice school HOWEVER the principal is very rude and is quick to say negative things abouut your child. My child has went there for 2 years now and he now has a teacher that seems to care. HIs teacher last year wasnt patient, with him or any other student and never wanted to help with advancing my childs potential. His teacher this year, is a better, but also seems to not care at times, my son says she yells at the students, and has made another little girl cry. The staff there to me seems like they dont care about the childs education and is there just to get a paycheck. Next school year, my child will not be going to this school, I wish I had never put him in this school, and I hope they get better at their people skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

Brockland is an awesome school. The teachers are always working together to benefit the educational success of their students. Students are always seen with a smile on their faces. It is truly a place where kids come first.


Posted September 24, 2010

It is not just a school it is a family. Each adult in the building loves being here. The kids love being here as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

I am a retired teacher who taught at Brockland for thirty-two years...Brockland is a caring school, not just for the student, but for the entire family. We call the parents and students 'The Brockland Family'. Brockland is a school of academic excellence, we care and educate the whole child. Lois Jean Hinman
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 25, 2007

Brockland is an awesome school. My daughters just completed their last year and my son is going into 1st grade. The staff honestly cares about the child's welfare and shows it everyday. I look forward to many more years at Brockland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2004

Well I am not a parent, but I used to go here until I moved. Brockland is a great school. The staff is wonderful and I am sure your child will love it here. Mrs. Cox is awesome. Mrs. McCann is too. Brockland Elementary School is the best school in Lawton, Oklahoma.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

24 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

24 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

37 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 54%
Black 23% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 13% 18%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6205 NW Ferris
Lawton, OK 73505
Phone: (580) 536-6948

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT