Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rockwall Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

We are best known for academics and sports program.

 
 

Living in Rowlett

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $131,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2010

I went to RCA for four years after coming from public school. The worst thing for my education. They are VERY close minded. They change the rules so much. They stand behind the teachers even if they are wrong. They allow the teachers to treat the students however they want. The teachers so bad about public schools. When public schools are actually better. The principals go behind the students back and talk about other students. They try to get information out of the students, When they shouldn't. They don't keep it professional at all. All they care about is money, the more money your parents have the better the student gets treated! As long as your putting money into the school they let you get away with whatever. Dont send your child here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2008

Hi. I go to RCA and love it! The teachers are so cool and the sports are so fun. Our sports teams do really well and our academics are really cool!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2006

We have 3 children enrolled at RCA, and are extremely pleased with not only the excellent standard set for academics, but also with the level of genuine love and attention that the teachers give our children. Our children are consistently challenged and encouraged in their academics. We also greatly appreciate the opportunity they have to be in an environment where the Word of God is taught, and they are led by the faculty's example in Godly leadership. We strongly recommnend RCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2006

We have two children enrolled at RCA; one child has been with RCA for six years. Because we have experience with public school and another private school, we're able to do a realistic comparison of RCA . Academically, RCA is forward thinking - across all subject areas. Curriculum is chosen based on much research and student results. If its obvious that change needs to occur to produce better results, administration does not adhere to the 'we've always done it this way' thinking. But more than the progressive academics, we keep our children at RCA because the student-teacher relationship factor is unmatched. While maintaining professionalism, RCA teachers seek to establish a healthy relationship with their students. RCA students, in general, are convinced their teachers care deeply for them - spiritually and academically. For this, we are most thankful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

Rockwall Christian Academy is a wonderful school. Our family has been a part of it for over 8 years. I have seen incredible investments made into the lives of my children both spiritually and academically. As a single parent, I can say that this school has been a safe place and a blessing for our whole family.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 13, 2006

When my 6 year old daughter started first grade this year she was not enthusiastic. She worried because she was a slow reader. She soon discovered as I did that the programs offered by Rockwall Christian academy greatly improved her abilities in a short amount of time. With this new found ease of learning she became more confident and found a love for learning. I will always be grateful for not only these programs that are offered but for the gentle way they were taught. My daughter never felt like anyone was disappointed in her abilities while she learned. At the beginning of her first grade year she was the slowest reader in her class. By the end of the year she was one of the fastest. She now looks forward to starting second grade. Thank you RCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2006

Our two children have attended RCA since elementary school and have recently graduated. Having come from a public school setting, the impact of RCA on their lives was immeasurable. Their experience with the teachers and superintendent was one of love and support. They were challenged to reach beyond the status quo and encouraged when they felt that they failed. The spiritual emphasis is evident in every area of the school. It has given my children a strong sense of their purpose in the kingdom. A student with a heart for the things of God and a desire to learn will find RCA to be the right place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2005

RCA is a school focused not on a full, hollistic exploration of education, but instead on a very narrow and closed-minded indoctrination. Most of the teachers fail to adequately engage or teach the students and some are dead-set on teaching students their opinions instead of useful material. Some teachers, specifically Singh and Dryden provide good preparation for college, however. In general, the school has had a gross instability in leadership. In summary, while RCA is probably not the worst school to send your child to, there are better.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 24, 2005

Great friendly environment! Strong curriculum but lacking talented and gifted program for their students. Overall it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 15% 4%
Black 13% 13%
Hispanic 8% 51%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • School of the Year (2010)
  • Administrator of the Year (2010)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jeanne Zakem
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ORUEF
Fax number
  • (972) 463-3746

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Rockwall Christian continues to remain abreast of educational developments resulting in a strong academic program. We meet the needs of individual students. RCA has a strong sense of family and community.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6005 Dalrock Road
Rowlett, TX 75088
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 412-8266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT