Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hoggetowne Middle School

Charter | 6-8 | 113 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2011

This is a wonderfully involved, very hands on, supportive school. My daughter has genuinely flourished here. The staff is wonderful, caring, challenging, & provide great direction. I was very impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

My daughter and I love Hoggetowne. She does very well there academically and socially. She loves the theater and dance program there and her teachers are very easy to talk with, we keep in contact via email on a regular basis. This school has programs that other schools lack without missing out on the core subjects. Gaspar the Principal is well liked by the students and the parents. We look forward to the rest of our time here and my 1st grade son tells me he can't wait until he get to middle school to attend Hoggetowne.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

I love Hoggetowne Middle School. My oldest daughter started in sixth and is now going into eighth grade this year. I also have another daughter who will be starting in sixth grade this year. The 'new' principal is wonderful. He has a lot to offer to the school and the students. Both of my children have over a 3.5 GPA. Hoggetowne Middle School gives them the environment to grow and expand their minds without all of the garbage of a 'pubic' middle school. No child has to worry about being picked on, teased, or made to feel bad in any way, for any reason. Hoggetowne does NOT tolerate such behavior. Therefore my children know when they go to school everyday they will be learning in a stress free environment. We give them 5 stars across the board!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

it is the best i love it i am happy im not that cute and i am friends with 30 kids most of them are 8grade it os so nice to have friends for once im 12 6geade so stop being mean to me and my friends and most of all the workers thay are so nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2009

The principal is rarely there and the school often seems chaotic and disorganized. The building, both inside and out, is dirty and there is often garbage laying around. I am sometimes embarrassed to say that my daughter goes to this school. However, many of the teachers are wonderful and are always willing to spend extra time helping her to understand the material. I think that with a stronger administration the school would have a lot of potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

I will revisit this review next year when my student, who is enrolled in Hoggetowne, attends the local public high school. For now I am making the following observations: The curriculum is unique and has the potential to open unusual areas of learning for middle school students. Two examples of classes offerred to students are American Sign Language and their physical education class, Capoeira. However, the skills of the teachers to are yet to be tested. When the student enters high school, will she be able to compete with her peers in such areas as algebra and calculus, history and political science, english and literature. I've talked with her about things I believe a middle school student should know about history and the sinking of the Lusitania, and government and the electoral college. I only managed to get blank stars and confusion. I hope she can compete in her upcoming classes.


Posted February 27, 2008

I am very happy with hoggetowne because my daughter seems to be progressing nicely. My only complaint is that as an absent parent I don't receive regular reports or notifications about parent teacher meetings i know that it is difficult but i feel that a child needs both parents to be interested in their school so i think the school has to make a genuine effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

My son really loves this school. The staff are very accepting of all students. He will be here for all his middle school years. The principal is very open to all suggestions, and has always been there to meet any need my son has had. I recommend this school to any parent. Also the atmosphere is safe! They have a zero tolerence for bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

I think Hoggetowne is awesome the one on one time really is helpful. My child enjoys it and I am glad he will go all his middle school years there. The new teachers they have are great. It is wonderful wish it was bigger. The parent involvement is great, always willing to help it his shame other schools are that great with parents offering to help out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2006

I have 2 children that attend this school and I feel this school offers alot of things that other schools don't. I like this school and wouldn't ever take my children out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

It has a great teacher/student ratio, but not a very organized system. Has potential, but they don't put in their best effort.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 11, 2005

Hoggtowne provides a nuturing inviroment for students. Hoggtowne lacks the ability to provide proper education to children with learning difficulties. The turn over for teachers and staff are very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2004

This school should be shut down! There is a great need for someone who actually follows through with absolutely anything in that school. The principal has some great ideas (even if she is more biased towards some students than others)but she is not someone to follow through. The administrative clerk is so unorganized and lost in many circumstances. Many regulations are being broken on a daily basis to include safety issues. I highly do not recommend you to send your child to this school unless you would like to see your child fail. Even academically they are extremely lacking in even the very basic standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
79%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 48%
White 35%
Hispanic 11%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 55%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
Female 45%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 17%44%61%
Master's degree 67%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 17%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1717 Northeast 9th Street
Gainesville, FL 32609
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 367-4369

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Loga Springs Academy
Gainesville, FL


Loga Springs Academy
Gainesville, FL




Sidney Lanier Center
Gainesville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT