Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gulf Coast Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 180 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Petersburg

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2010

I have been a parent of a student at GCCS for 2 years and can not wait for my younger child to start there. If you are lloking for a great education with a religous foundation then this is the place for you. I consider GCCS a part of my family and they certainly make you feel that way. I love GCCS and so do my kids. I think you will too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

Genuine, Godly, friendly, nurturing learning environment. My child loves going to school, loves her teachers, the coach, the aftercare team. I feel safe leaving her there with what I now consider my extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

Great school. I had alot of trouble getting my daughter into KG the yr she was turning 5 due to her late birthday. Gulfcoast gave her a chance and accepted her and she's doing exceptionaly well. She's already starting to read, and does extremely well in math! The school just needs a little update to the campus and it will be the perfect school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2004

We have been very happy at Gulf Coast Christian School. We were a family there for 11 years. Our daughter started there in the 3 year old preschool program, and went on to graduate from the 8th grade. She had many many wonderful teachers, some of which have been at Gulf Coast for 10-16 years. That in itself speaks highly of the school. Our daughter made good grades, and had a lot of individual attention during class. The low student ratio is a tremendous help to these students. There is a family atmosphere, and a great support group for the school in the PTFA board and group of people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2004

A great family atmosphere...Children feel a good sense of security
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2004

Gulf Coast Christian School is a school where the children education, moral development in a christian and safe enviroment is a priority for staff and teachers. I am glad my kids go to GCCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2004

Many of our teachers have been teaching at GCCS for at minimum 5 years. We have several who have been teaching here for 8, 10 and 15 years! That says a lot about the school environment. Our Principal has 32 years of public education experience, and is using her wealth of knowledge to benefit us greatly here. My kids love the small classes and personal teacher involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2004

The small class sizes are wonderful. You don't seem to find that much anymore. Even at other private schools. It is such a close knit environment here. Everyone looks out for everyone. Such a pleasure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2004

My children attend this school. It is a very loving environment with a strong focus on education. Their preschool program is full of wonderful teachers who truly love the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Black 14% 23%
Hispanic 6% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of christ
Associations
  • NCSA
Fax number
  • (727) 384-2237

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6355 38th Avenue North
St. Petersburg, FL 33710
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 345-3448

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westgate Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL


Five Oaks Christian Academy
Pinellas Park, FL


Blanton Elementary School
St. Petersburg, FL



Tyrone Middle School
St. Petersburg, FL


Gulf Coast Christian School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT