Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Minneapolis, MN
Students enrolled: 246
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch 4

Posted August 09, 2015
- a parent
This school is doing a good job with kids and most of the staff love the kids like their own. We need more parents to get involved and to get some more teachers of color because they connect better with the kids. It's not for everybody and the buses last year were horrible. I hope they do something about this next year.

Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 09, 2015
- a parent
They teach kids to be respectful but some of the kids still behave disrespectfully to tome staff.


Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted July 27, 2015
- a community member
Some kids are very disrespectful but usually it changes unless they're parents are also disrespectful.

Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch 4

Posted July 27, 2015
- a community member
The staff are extremely committed to the students and parents. Most schools would turn their back on some of the problems that happen. Some people don't like that. It's not perfect and I've had to discuss my disagreements, but they're always willing to listen and work with you. If you have an imperfect kid that you want to see succeed and not get judged send them here.

Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch 1

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
WISE is an Oxymoron....most staff and parent reviews over the past few years show terrible outcomes for all students. Several years a go the school was not paying their vendors for service and food, the state health department came in and found serious issues during the year they moved to a new site. If you want your child to have a decent future, then you would be wise to look elsewhere where academics of reading and math take priority.


Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch 1

Posted August 08, 2014
- a community member
WISE charter school/ aka Carter G. Woodsen Academy is a failing school in North Minneapolis that continues to stay open although the school is constant violent turmoil. The students are out of control, the teachers are powerless, and the director turns a blind eye to it all and instead blames the teachers and the parents. MN department of education- wake up and realize that just becaue they changed their name and moved location, does not mean they have changed anything going on inside the school. The school should be shut down and the kids should be moved to various schools around the city. Schools that ARE succeeding, schools where they will be given a chance.

Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch 1

Posted November 28, 2012
- a parent
I would never send my child back to this school EVER. It was the worst mistake I as parent made. My child was there only for 6 months and it was hell the whole time. The bus company skipped my son's stop and then tried to blame it on him when it was really there fault. The staff and the prinicpal are very rude to parents as well as students, if you are not and invoved parent your child will be left in the dark as far a learning. This school should be closed and never allowed to re open, the WORST school I have ever delt with. Do not send your kids here there are WAY better schools out there. Do not let the so called "great circiculm " fool you this is the worst school ever.

Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch 1

Posted July 25, 2011
- a community member
I am surprised to read the positive reviews on this board. This school is a school in a state of chaos and disarray. The behavior issues presented at this school are uncontrolled and extreme; thus creating an unsafe environment. The administration is uneducated and unqualified for their roles and there is a lack of support for parents, students and staff. The teachers are overwhelmed with requirements that lead to extra work with little to no results. In addition to all of the, the school of thought on which the school is based creates a culture of discrimination, exclusion and racism. I would never consider sending my child to this school and I hope you do the same.


Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch 5

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
I have loved this school from the time my child started. Parents are invited to be involved and one of the things I love is that they are not more concerned with money then they are my child. My child is not left behind. This school recognizes the importance of the education of African American males and provides me and my child with the support we both need!

Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch 5

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
What an excellent school! They are a 5 star in my book!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch
1501 Aldrich Ave North, Minneapolis, MN  55411
(612) 522-4022
Last modified Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodson Institute For Excellence Ch Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top