Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Leo The Great School

Private | PK-8 | 149 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Buffalo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

We are tremendously sad that St Leo's, our daughter's school, is closing at the end of the year. The six years she has spent there have been amazing. The principal, Mrs. Kraus, cares so deeply for the children. She is always positive and upbeat. She has been there for our most precious treasure for the last six years. The teachers have been equally amazing, supportive, and loving. I always felt bad knowing how underpaid they were for their incredible devotion and dedication. We are going to miss you St. Leo's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

Unfortunately the school is closing at the end of the year. It is hard to see it go. Teachers past and present were awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2013

My school has an amazing principal that her heart goes out to each student as if they were her own. She is understanding and easy to talk to. The teachers and staff are hands on when it comes to teaching our kids. They will help each child succeed. There are no boundaries. Kids are wonderful and sweet. St. Leo's has become our home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

Wonderful school, amazing teachers, loving supportive environment. Best educational experience we've ever had. As both a parent and former teacher ( not at St. Leo's) this is clearly the best elementary school in the area. Best principal I have ever had the pleasure of knowing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

GENUINE, AUTHENTIC, LOVING, WARM, RICH IN TRADITION AND GROWING. I cannot begin to express how incredible the school and staff are! When I stop in and visit my daughter and classmates for lunch, it does not feel like I am visiting her school....it feels like I am stopping by Grandma's house. The principal Mrs.Kraus is a true "mother-hen" she watches over the children as if they were her own babies. The teachers are close-knit and work as a team. The doors are ALWAYS open unless the kids are testing. This school is a dream come true. The Christian values modeled and taught daily are priceless. I feel honored and truly blessed to be part of this AMAZING school and parish. Finding the right fit for our child was a test in itself. I am glad those days have passed and we are marching full speed ahead with St.Leo The Great in the lead!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

I cannot say enough about St Leo the Great. The principal is wonderful. The teachers are smart ,educated and very caring . The atmosphere of St Leo's is truly one of family. It is a perfect place for a child to flourish!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

The teachers constantly go above and beyond what is required and expected, and the administration is supportive and communicative. It's a terrific school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

This school has undergone a substantial number of administrative and faculty changes in recent years and is no longer the good choice that it used to be. The school building is in a far worse state than any other Catholic school in Amherst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2007

We started my son's education at a public school. He got quite an (unwanted) education from his peers. We moved him to St. Leo's and it was the best decision we have ever made. His peers are very well behaved and respectful. The teachers really expect a lot regarding behavior, morals, effort, and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

Excellent teaching and administrative staff. Students are well prepared for High School after receiving a St. Leo's education. Morals, faith and service to others are incorporated into all of student work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

St. Leo's dedicated and professional staff brings to the education of its students an atmosphere of meaninful and concientious learning at all levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This is a great school. All 8 children in my family have attended this school. The teachers are excellent and their programs as good too.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 52%
Black 14% 21%
Asian 6% N/A
Hispanic 4% 21%
Two or more races 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carolyn M. Kraus
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Buffalo
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

903 Sweet Home Road
Buffalo, NY 14226
Phone: (716) 832-6340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT