Advertisement
Advertisement

Immaculate Conception School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pittsburgh

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $88,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2011

They need to get rid of the Principal...they have some exclent teachers...the principal is a horable person for being a nun!She lets children be bullied and does not do anything about it..I can't wait till my child graduates...I really did'nt have any onther Catholic schools close to choose from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I went to the Mac, a long time ago and I believe in this school. Now my grandson has been there for 2 years, and learning about God is the most important thing in life. We all need God in our life, especially for the children. It is a jungle out there, and learning about God will help the children be safe. It makes you feel like family, because the Immaculate Conception is a close knit school and that is why I make this school very special in my heart.


Posted February 2, 2010

Both of my sons go to Mac. This was the best decision that my husband and myself has ever made. Sister John is wonderful! She is loving and caring she knows all 200 children by first name. I can't say enough about the teachers they make sure your child goes the extra mile and is challenged everyday. You can feel at ease that when your child goes to school that they are safe and that they are in a loving caring place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

they offer an excellent opportunity for the young catholic children from the neighborhood and the also offer market day


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers are very good. They care greatly for each one of their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

Mrs. Attwood, Mrs. Becker, and Ms. Sciullo are the glue that holds mac together. Such wonderful teachers that actually care about the students well being. Sr. John should hold on to them!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2009

Sister Mary John is an excellent principal! She does everything possible to make this school a true family! Both of my boys love her and have loved all their teachers to date! This is a caring place where my children are learning the values that my husband and I cherish! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

Mac is a great school! Sister Mary John is a wonderful principal and will help anyone any way she can. And whoever said the cafeteria was a downside has to mistaken! What school has lunches made from scratch everyday? Spaghetti sauce made from an authentic Italian, who could easily have her own restaurant, I wish I had lunches like that when I was in school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

A wonderful school with a stunning church and great teachers . The only downside is the cafeteria food.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

I have found this school to be nothing but wonderful. The teachers are excellent role models for the children. This school provides the children with values and a strong education. The principal is very involved and knows all of the children in the school by name. This school is highly recommended by our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

I am so blessed to have found this school. It is truly the best out there. The academics are top rate, the family and christian values are stressed and parents are encouraged to take part every step of the way
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

A wonderful and safe school. Teachers are very friendly and helpful towards students. I've compared Immaculate Conception to other private schools in Pittsburgh, and none of them can touch this school. Terrific principal, and a very hard working person. Top notch education!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 74%
Asian 14% N/A
Black 10% 16%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Pittsburgh
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

321 Edmond St
Pittsburgh, PA 15224
Phone: (412) 621-5199

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT