Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

School Of Our Lady

Private | K-8 | 185 students

Our school is best known for our faith-based challenging curriculum.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Living in Santa Ana

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $280,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2014

I am a parent of 2 students at School of Our Lady and an 8th grade graduate from last year. I am very proud that this is the only school they have been to. They have never been to a public school. I have been in this school community for 9 years and I like that school for the strict rules they have. I've seen that they take students out of that school and go back to the school the next year. We have the best teachers who are very full of God and academically very well prepared. It is a very blessed community. May God keep blessing you and we'll wait for you at School of Our Lady
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

I am a parent of two boys and have found School of Our Lady to be an excellent school. One of my sons struggled but his teacher took the time to help him one on one. All the teachers are more than willing to assist the students with extra help if needed. The office is very caring and friendly. They are always there to answer questions and assist parents any way they can. The Principal always has her door open and is available to speak with parents whenever they need to see her. It is disheartening to see a parent write a review based on a lunch incident. A school can not be judged one one incident involving lunch. We need to take a look at academics, faith, and family. There are always two sides of a story.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

I am a Parent at School of our Lady, before March 12,2012. I believe School of our Lady was one of the best private catholic Schools in orange county. On this day March 12,20012 was the second time, the Front office staff, decided not to give my daugther lunch, due to parent having a small balance dew of $30.00. This is not a nice to do do. To a child. Now I am not even sure if I still want to continue sending my daughter their. CAN I TRUST SCHOOL OF OUR LADY, TO FEED MY DAUGHTER LUNCH???????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

I LOVE this school because my son can really learn and fell safe. I sacrafice alot to put my son in this school. But it is worth it to know my son is learning about religion and that he is in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

I try public school around my house but know days they are over crowded decided to try school of our lady and was the best choice I have made for my daughter's education. School of Lady has provide the best academic skills for my daughter's education as well as discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

What is better than a school that teaches my child necessary academic skills and provides a great moral foundation? I cannot think of a better place to send my child other than School of Our Lady in Santa Ana.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

As a parent, I love seeing the academic goals set for my child. The discipline is also a plus, as I have seen my child develop proper manners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

I love being a part of School of Our Lady. It is a safe, welcoming, loving environment. The students here are intelligent, understanding, and provide for a great school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Adela Solis
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Catholic
Fax number
  • (714) 545-2362

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
30
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
40

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mater Dei High School
Segerstrom
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2204 West McFadden Avenue
Santa Ana, CA 92704
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 545-8185

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

School Of Our Lady
Santa Ana, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT