Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a community member
This school is great. My son started TK this year and he tells me he loves every day of school in Mrs. Williams class. I like that there are only 17 children in his class, so it's not over crowded.

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 2

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
This used to be an exceptional school. A 5 star school. Since this school has merged with the neighborhood school, it has gone downhill, and very fast. The neighborhood school was struggling to just to stay afloat academically before the merge. The students who had to merge with the Academy are now struggling to keep up with basic academics, the music program and the extra foreign language class. Grades are slipping, theft is very rampant and there have been more problems with teachers not getting along due to curriculum changes. I suggest paying for your child to have music lessons outside of school and find another school to attend. This school is sinking fast and not even going to be able to keep up with state standards for academics. I have pulled both of my kids and discovered just how much better some other schools are.


Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 5

Posted December 01, 2014
- a community member
I love this school, the teachers are the best. I am a student who used to attend this school and it was the best school! There were so many nice teachers! I loved all of them. Sadly now I had to leave this school. I cried because that is how much of a good school this is. Take your children here it is the best.

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 1

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
This principal, Mrs. Stackelhouse, has been given a "last chance" with the district. So, they gave her two schools--The Academy and Irwin--because the district figured she couldn't screw them up. Wrong! The principal is only on campus 50% of the time. Usually no one knows where she is or what she is doing. Make sure your child is perfect in order to attend the school! If he/she is not perfect they will be bullied by all staff members, and the students soon follow along too! This is a parent choice school, so make the choice to never send your child to this school!

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 5

Posted June 14, 2012
- a parent
The Academy is an exceptional school that has had more than its share of challenges over the past several years. Music has always been the cornerstone of the program, but as of two years ago The Academy lost both of its music teachers due to budget cuts. Fortunately, the wonderful administration and staff had the courage and resolve to find some creative ways to keep the music alive by recruiting a teahcer with a strong musical background from another school and a former music teacher from the community. Although it has not been easy the past couple of years, the school is offering a music program that it can be proud of and that is continuously improving. As far as the school "letting anyone in," all I can say is that this is a public school. If anything, having to serve a more diverse and less affuent group of students has made The Academy and its teachers more effective and less complacent. They just received a 9 out of 10 ranking in similar school comparisons, which means that they are in the 90th percentile of one hundred schools with similar demographics...simply outstanding! Our family loves the school and proudly recommends it to others. The Academy is back!


Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 2

Posted May 01, 2012
- a parent
I'm looking for a different school for my child. Principal is new to this school and thinks she will be able to bring up this school. The fact is that the last principal moved away because he knew this school was going down and if he didn't improve it he would look bad. It was a good school in the pass and now they are struggling to keep up enrollment and letting anyone in and it's affecting everything. The music program is just sad. Music teacher is not passionate for the class she is teaching and it affects the whole program.

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 5

Posted November 16, 2010
- a parent
The Academy gave my child the opportunity to learn a new language and play a new instrument. My child is a new student at The Academy, the teachers are very supportive and offer after school help. The school also has a morning reading program, chess club, music program which builds the childs self esteem.

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 4

Posted August 09, 2010
- a parent
The Academy has great teachers. My child is an excellent reader, speaks spanish, and enjoys music and plays because of the Academy


Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
My chrildren have learned a foreign language and have learned to respect music. The staff in this school is like family. Absolutely love the high standards for academics.

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a community member
API scores tell it all. Kids get a great education with good staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language
14907 South Mojave Drive, Victorville, CA  92395
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (760) 245-7961
Last modified Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language is a Public school that serves grades K-6
Top