Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


46 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 2

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
This used to be an exceptional school. A 5 star school. Since this school has merged with the neighborhood school, it has gone downhill, and very fast. The neighborhood school was struggling to just to stay afloat academically before the merge. The students who had to merge with the Academy are now struggling to keep up with basic academics, the music program and the extra foreign language class. Grades are slipping, theft is very rampant and there have been more problems with teachers not getting along due to curriculum changes. I suggest paying for your child to have music lessons outside of school and find another school to attend. This school is sinking fast and not even going to be able to keep up with state standards for academics. I have pulled both of my kids and discovered just how much better some other schools are.

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 5

Posted December 01, 2014
- a community member
I love this school, the teachers are the best. I am a student who used to attend this school and it was the best school! There were so many nice teachers! I loved all of them. Sadly now I had to leave this school. I cried because that is how much of a good school this is. Take your children here it is the best.


Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 5

Posted June 14, 2012
- a parent
The Academy is an exceptional school that has had more than its share of challenges over the past several years. Music has always been the cornerstone of the program, but as of two years ago The Academy lost both of its music teachers due to budget cuts. Fortunately, the wonderful administration and staff had the courage and resolve to find some creative ways to keep the music alive by recruiting a teahcer with a strong musical background from another school and a former music teacher from the community. Although it has not been easy the past couple of years, the school is offering a music program that it can be proud of and that is continuously improving. As far as the school "letting anyone in," all I can say is that this is a public school. If anything, having to serve a more diverse and less affuent group of students has made The Academy and its teachers more effective and less complacent. They just received a 9 out of 10 ranking in similar school comparisons, which means that they are in the 90th percentile of one hundred schools with similar demographics...simply outstanding! Our family loves the school and proudly recommends it to others. The Academy is back!

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 2

Posted May 01, 2012
- a parent
I'm looking for a different school for my child. Principal is new to this school and thinks she will be able to bring up this school. The fact is that the last principal moved away because he knew this school was going down and if he didn't improve it he would look bad. It was a good school in the pass and now they are struggling to keep up enrollment and letting anyone in and it's affecting everything. The music program is just sad. Music teacher is not passionate for the class she is teaching and it affects the whole program.

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 5

Posted November 16, 2010
- a parent
The Academy gave my child the opportunity to learn a new language and play a new instrument. My child is a new student at The Academy, the teachers are very supportive and offer after school help. The school also has a morning reading program, chess club, music program which builds the childs self esteem.


Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 4

Posted August 09, 2010
- a parent
The Academy has great teachers. My child is an excellent reader, speaks spanish, and enjoys music and plays because of the Academy

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
My chrildren have learned a foreign language and have learned to respect music. The staff in this school is like family. Absolutely love the high standards for academics.

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a community member
API scores tell it all. Kids get a great education with good staff.


Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 5

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
At the Academy my kids get to learn all their acadimics as well as learn to play and study music. They also begin learning a foreign language in kindergarten and continue to learn through sixth grade. The Academy has a wonderful and dedicated staff that is committed to the excellence of its students.

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language 0
no rating

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
Great Level of Academic Music Education No other School offers.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language
14907 South Mojave Drive, Victorville, CA  92395
(760) 245-7961
Last modified Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Academy Of Performing Arts And Foreign Language Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top