Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Whitefoord Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
My children are really enjoying school, as well as achieving academic success. Their kindergarten teacher, Ms. Hancock, is simply wonderful. I hope the school will be supportive of its teachers so that teacher retention will increase.

Whitefoord Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I haven't observed all of the teachers of course, but the kindergarten and first grade teachers that I am very familiar with are very efficient and effective.

Whitefoord Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
It's hard to say, because if it were up to me there would be no homework until at least 3rd grade. But my first graders do their homework pretty quickly. Playtime is very important for young children, including outside time, so I would like to see less homework personally. But it is good for the parent to give one on one attention to their child's school work. Teachers with 15-20 children in a class can't always do that for each child every day, and it does need to be done.

Whitefoord Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I think the kids could be given more free time to talk and interact, because the administration and teachers are very focused on the halls and common areas being quiet. Friendships develop anyway, but I would like to see quiet talking emphasized, rather than silence.

Whitefoord Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I volunteer frequently at Whitefoord, and attend events and programs. The children are friendly and respectful, and the teachers are adept at avoiding and resolving the minor conflicts that arise.. My young kids sometimes leave their jackets and other things where they don't belong, but I always get them back in short order. The kids play nicely together during free time.

Whitefoord Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
A big thank you to Mr. Foster and all the teachers for making our school a great place to learn!

Whitefoord Elementary School 3

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Whitefoord Elementary School has been great for both my son and I. He is in 2nd grade and have been attending WES since February of this year. During this time I have seen his behavior turn around almost 100% and that makes me proud as a parent and let's me know that his teacher (Ms. Herbert) and other staff are assisting me in raising a well behaved young man. I love to see the principal (Mr. Foster) greeting the students and parents in the morning as they walk in the building and must I say the carpool is flowing just fine. I would however love to see a more secure entrance when a visitor or whomever enters the building. What I mean by that is once someone is allowed into the building, they have access to many parts of the building before arriving at the office which to me puts the children and staff there more vulnerable to danger or what not. That would make me feel more secured in sending my child to school. Another concern would be better fencing around the playground area. Right now it's just easy access for children to wander or for someone off the streets to come and have close contact with students and teachers. Overall, I am pleased with Whitefoord Elementary School.

Whitefoord Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2013
- a parent
Whitfoord elementary is an excellent school. My daughter has attended the school since pre-k. She has mastered and exceeded many goals. The teachers really care for the students.

Whitefoord Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 28, 2008
- a parent
Whitefoord has exceptionally smart teacher. They care about their students and go the extra mile each and every day.

Nearby schools

Whitefoord Elementary School
35 Whitefoord Ave Se, Atlanta, GA  30317
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (404) 802-6900
Last modified Whitefoord Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top