Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
195 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mountain Island Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
The small class sizes allow the teachers to spend extra time with students who need it.

Mountain Island Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
I am not a proponent of a lot of homework. If the teachers do their job the students should not need piles of homework. It's busy work in most cases. We prefer that our son have time after school for athletics, a proper dinner, family time and a good night sleep. Most of the time he gets his homework done during afterschool and his time at home is enjoyable.


Mountain Island Day School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
Yes. We have seen this with athletic teams. They work together and never give up. They don't blame each other.

Mountain Island Day School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
This was one of the biggest reasons we moved our son from a charter school near uptown Charlotte to Mountain Island Day. We simply cannot accept students being disrespectful to teachers. We did not want our son in that atmosphere. At MID we no longer worry about it. Our son is very respectful and we wanted him in an atmosphere where his classmates and teachers were too. We found that at MID.

Mountain Island Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely! When our son was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes his classmates were concerned for him. They learned what it meant for him and they all keep a watch for warning signs of low blood sugar. I never expected that much caring from middle school children.


Mountain Island Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
They teach Christian values on a daily basis. Plus the students are like a family. They care about each other. Do they always get along? No, but they learn how to care and respect each other.

Mountain Island Day School 5

Posted June 22, 2016
- a parent
We transferred our 13 year old son into this school Dec 1, 2015 from a charter school that was supposed to be great. We have been overjoyed with the teachers, the curriculum, the administration and the students. A month after our son started there he was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes. The administration and teachers were compassionate about the situation and jumped right in to learn how they could help him during the school day. There is really an atmosphere of family with the students and teachers. We finally got the small class size that we were promised when we went to charter schools. As far as the curriculum we have been very pleased, it rivals what we experienced when our son attended the top rated charter school in the state. The tests they take are harder than the EOGs and they don't stress the kids out either. We are so happy we made this leap of faith and have found a home.

Mountain Island Day School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 11, 2016
- a community member
All of the kids are behind. They are even behind the public schools. The children are not pushed to their full potential. Way behind all the rest.


Mountain Island Day School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 11, 2016
- a community member
There are not enough words to describe what they do to the children. They are evil mean people who will stop at nothing to put money in their bank accounts

Mountain Island Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 11, 2016
- a community member
They have no compassion. They keep taking down any post that is negative about their school.

Nearby schools

Mountain Island Day School
8101 Fallsdale Dr, Charlotte, NC  28214
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (704) 391-5516
Last modified Mountain Island Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top