Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mountain Island Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 28, 2015
- a parent
Again, one needs to look no further than the headmasters that lead the school. If a teacher is sick.....all of a sudden she resigns. If a teacher has a death in her family (such as her father).....all of a sudden she resigns. The headmasters have no compassion whatsoever for employees (unless they are producing another baby) who are enduring a difficult time in their life. Instead, they tell them they are not fit to teach. They do this, while taking their 4th vacation during the school year, not even considering how that looks to everyone. Hopefully, you will not become unemployed during your time as a parent here, because you may be humiliated in front of others when you can't pay tuition or pay for a field trip. No one knows how to handle things tactfully or with grace.

Mountain Island Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a teacher
As a teacher at MID I've seen many instances of our faculty helping students develop persistence and determination. In one case, a student would cry every time that he didn't do something perfectly. He would get very upset and beat himself up about it. His teachers worked to help him understand that no one is perfect, and that we can learn from the mistakes that we make. By the end of this school year, the same child still performs at a very high level, but when he makes a mistake he doesn't cry or get upset; he tries to find a way to learn from it.


Mountain Island Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a teacher
At MID the students have the opportunity to participate in community outreach, especially in the middle and high school grades. The older students have gone to serve at homeless shelters, meal programs, and nursing homes, and the younger ones have participated in food drives, water drives, and pajama drives. During Chapel the kids have learned about mission trips and the needs of people in other countries, and spent time praying for them.

Mountain Island Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 26, 2015
- a teacher
The teachers at MID are wonderful! They are kind and caring with the students, but also have high expectations for them. My son achieved the A honor roll for the first time this year, and scored well above his grade level in most areas of the end of grade testing. I'm very happy with the teachers!

Mountain Island Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 26, 2015
- a teacher
I love that MID doesn't give a lot of homework! The research says that homework doesn't benefit students until they're in the upper high school grades. My child gets enough homework to give him practice with spelling words and math problems, etc. but isn't loaded down and spending hours every night on homework. This lets him be involved in other activities (like sports, youth group, etc) that contribute to his being a well-rounded person.


Mountain Island Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a teacher
At MID the teachers and administrators work with children and their parents to develop great character. I've seen many examples of this over the last few years. One way they do this is that teachers and students can nominate each other for 'character' awards. They want to catch each other helping others, being kind, or doing the right thing even when no one is watching...being Christ-like. The vast majority of students at MID are wonderful kids. An example of this happened last fall when a student lost her hearing aid on the soccer field...the family was devastated. The next morning the entire school, students and staff, gathered together to comb the soccer field to try to find the hearing aid. It wasn't found that morning, but during recess several of the 4th and 5th grade students decided on their own to spend their recess time continuing to look. They found it and were SO excited to return it to the student who had lost it!

Mountain Island Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
First of all, if you look at the history of the school, they continue to have a high teacher turnover rate, which was a huge parent complaint last year. Unfortunately, it occurred again this year, with the EXPERIENCED teachers leaving. Again, the headmasters like to keep the $$$ in their pocket. Experienced teachers cost more, even though they are more beneficial to our children, they are the first to go. Two of the most loved teachers in the school left this year because they were not offered contracts to return. This is a huge blemish on our school.

Mountain Island Day School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
I rarely saw homework come home with my child, which should have been a gigantic red flag.


Mountain Island Day School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
First of all, the curriculum is not rigorous. There is no expectation that teachers will cover particular topics by a certain time period. They state that they cover Core Knowledge, but the literacy teachers did not cover that material during the past school year. The Russian authors, and other high level material was not implemented. My child is leaving and is far behind....certainly not ready for the SAT as my child should be.

Mountain Island Day School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
Students curse, use foul language, and make threats toward each other. Nothing is done. They may have to take the trash out, but they will be right back in the classroom the next day.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountain Island Day School
8101 Fallsdale Dr, Charlotte, NC  28214
(704) 391-5516
Last modified Mountain Island Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Mountain Island Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top