Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sabot at Stony Point

Private | PK-8 | 177 students

We are best known for research-based curriculum.
 
 

 
 

Living in Richmond

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $170,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, November 23, 2014

Now that my child is in a different school with some structure, my child is blossoming in all areas. To other parents, check with other children from different schools and see if your child is at the appropriate level. Beware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2014

I have two children in Sabot's Lower School, both of whom have been there since Preschool. It has been a wonderful experience for them - and for our family. I value the ways in which my children have learned to collaborate, to think about their thinking, to push themselves, and to value relationship and community. Sabot's approach, with its emphasis on rigorous student-driven learning, is part of the revolution in education taking place across the country and across the globe. I recommend the school highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2014

My son is just finishing his first year at Sabot at Stony Point in the youngest classroom. This year has been amazing. The entire staff focuses on building him as a person, not just as a student. He is kind; he recognizes kindness in himself and others; he is patient with his friends; he is eager to help; and he is able to address his emotions...all well above the level of a typical 3-year-old. He is not atypical for his classroom, either. This emotional growth is also paired with a passion for learning, exploring, and books. Sabot has made me a better parent. I look forward to many years with this wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2014

Sabot is rigorous, innovative and nuturting. They are advocates for the whole child. We are so happy with the math program in particular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2013

Depending on the teacher, the school can be excellent. However, upper administration caters to wealthy families disregarding curriculum, discipline, and childhood safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2013

This school lacks the proper security for the students, I hope they can improve that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2013

This "school" should be used as cautionary tale to exemplify what can go wrong when education is turned into a for-profit enterprise. Long-proven principles of education are abandoned in favor of experimental gimmicks designed to appeal to families with deep pockets and a naive belief that students can somehow learn without instruction.


Posted September 22, 2013

Sabot at Stony Point is an excellent alternative to most other private schools in the Richmond area. It is non-sectarian, constructivist, and progressive; the faculty and administration are up-to-date on the newest research on best-practice methods of education. Children don't just learn, they learn HOW to learn, and they learn the joy inherent in mastering a subject they are interested in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

Sabot at Stony Point uses a constructivist approach where teachers use the children's interests to scaffold learning through respect, collaboration and exploration. Sabot believes in depth over breadth allowing the students time to critically think, problem solve and rely on each others strengths to reach conceptual understanding. Children love school and feel safe to take intellectual risks. There is also a deep commitment to the school community and to respecting and celebrating each members unique differences. The children at Sabot are reaching potentials beyond peers at other schools all the while feeling valued as a person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Sabot at Stony Point is more than just a wonderful school. It's an amazing, supportive community for both children and parents. Incredible teachers and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Why is Sabot a great school? Because the school lives and breathes its Reggio Emilia-inspired values. Because the principal gave up her beautiful office for the use of the kindergarten children. Because the school has an art studio, an atelierista, and an artist-in-residence. Because year after year I see the thoughtful intentions of the administration and faculty lead to action and results. Because the other parents in the school community model good parenting such that I become a better parent through observation and osmosis. There are many other reasons that I could list, but there is not enough character space in this rating box. Check out the school at www.sabotatstonypoint.org.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

I could go on and on about why we love Sabot and what a great school it is but I will simply quote Grant Lichtman: educator, author, leader, parent, among other titles, "What was clear to me is that, like the school, the students are just as comfortable with who and what they are. Not only do they learn content and skills, but also they know why they learn, and how they learn. This is a step in creating the self-evolving learner that most schools don't understand... My sense is that students who attend a school like Sabot at Stony Point will acquire this critical element of self-evolving learning better than most." Add joy in learning + joy of learning, and that's why we love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

An amazing place that equips children to explore and impact the world around them. It really is magical to see the depth to which these kids will understand a subject. Terrific, committed faculty and staff. And the way they use the forest as an outdoor classroom has been huge for our kids in so many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

The teachers and administration at Sabot at Stony Point are exceptional and it is a rich, fun and engaging educational environment for preschool through eigth graders. The outdoor classroom (the forest) is incorporated beautifully into the educational environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

If you value an education that instills a deep joy for learning, independent thinking, an appreciation for all learning styles, learning through exploring, tinkering and researching, -- then Sabot at Stony Point is the school to choose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Sabot is a school and a community that fosters children's innate love of learning. They explore topics deeply and passionately. The rigorous curriculum builds on understanding and building on concepts instead of memorizing facts for a standardized test. The faculty believes that children are capable of meaningful insight and powerful ideas. The collaboration among these kids is amazing to watch. I am impressed on a daily basis by the extraordinary thinking my kids are doing. We feel so lucky to be a part of this phenomenal place. It may be hard to put into words what s going on here, but, once you see it in action, you get it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

The best school ever! Have 2 kids there and they completey love it! Was especially a blessing for my son, who has an auditory processing disorder yet is truly flourishing in the Sabot School environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Sabot is a place where children are respected as learners and educators in their own environment. To surround your child with teachers and students who tap into the innate joy for learning on a daily basis is not only a gift to the child but to the future of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

Sabot is a community of educators, students, and families who thrive in an intellectually stimulating environment. Sabot is committed to a progressive education, one in which students develop creative problem solving skills, learn to collaborate, and understand why and how they are learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

Sabot is a school where the children have an appreciation for inquiry and a real joy of learning. There is a genuine love for school and an understanding of the importance of child-centered curriculum. It is a great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Portuguese, Hindi
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • ESGR Patriot Award (2012)
  • ESGR Patriot Award (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Portuguese, Hindi
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Irene Carney, PhD
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (804) 560-9255

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
  • Social Constructivism
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Portuguese, Hindi
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We are committed to intellectually challenging education that develops children’s capacities for creative problem-solving, collaboration, and disciplined research; cultivates the respectful exchange of ideas; and brings meaning and joy to learning.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $13000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Maggie Walker Governor's School
Appomattox Regional Governor's School
Trinity Episcopal School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3400 Stony Point Road
Richmond, VA 23235
Website: Click here
Phone: (804) 272-1341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Riverside School
Richmond, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT