Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
329 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lycee Francais De San Francisco 1

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
This review is in regards to their recruiting practices. I applied recently to the SF campus and their evaluation session turned out to be a recruiting session for their Sausalito campus. I get that your SF campus is full, but don't dupe parents into taking a look at your Sausalito campus by forcing all evaluations to take place at Sausalito and showing a video of little kids boarding the bus to Sausalito. We're not interested in Sausalito and this is a great way to notify us that no we won't be getting into SF, but there are plenty of spaces available here. I know a few people whose kids go here and I think the school itself is good, I just hate their recruiting practices.

Lycee Francais De San Francisco 5

Posted January 21, 2016
- a community member
This is an amazing school. Academically top notch, but small, caring - just wonderful. We couldn't be happier


Lycee Francais De San Francisco 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
My children are thriving at the Lyc e. We feel so fortunate that we are able to send our children to this school. We are an American family and both of our children were speaking French fluently by the end of Kindergarten. It is a small close-knit community and we have become close friends with a lot of the families there. It has its share of dramatic parents who blame the school for everything, but I think that exists everywhere. The teachers are fantastic and really make the school as special place. We could not be more happy with the Lyc e.

Lycee Francais De San Francisco
no rating

Posted April 17, 2010
- a parent
It helped my 2 boys find a new home after the brutal murder of their 6 yr old brother. The school took into account our financial straits and waived tuition for 4 years. They are now in Berkeley and U of A. We would not have fared well w/out this school behind us even providing psychiatric assistance when needed and speech lessons for my son for free. A curriculum that the US is very hard-pressed to live up to yet this is standard practice in France.

Lycee Francais De San Francisco 5

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
My two kids have been at the Lycee for five years. It's a stellar school -- small class size, academics-focused, but also tons of field trips (1-2 outings a month, plus 3-day long trips in later grades), art projects, cooking, music, eco-projects, performances, plays etc. And, of course, all of this is done in French, so my kids are fully bilingual! We've met families from all over the world, and from many different backgrounds. Well worth the investment if you want global-mindedness and bilingualism to be a core component of your kids' educational experience.


Lycee Francais De San Francisco 4

Posted August 15, 2009
- a student
I've been going to the lycee since kindergarten and will be a sophomore in the fall. I am now completely bilingual and my French friends say I don't even have an accent! If you enroll your children at the lycee young, they wil never have excess homework. I've rarely had more than an hour or so a night, which might even be insufficient for a highschooler! True, the school may be small, I have about 40 people in my grade, but if your child will be sure to make many close friends. Don't worry about the English department either: it's sublime (freshman year we read Shakespeare, Sophocles, Kate Chopin, Salinger and more)! There's ESL for french students too. The school also offers Spanish, Latin, Mandarin and German as third languages.

Lycee Francais De San Francisco 1

Posted August 11, 2009
- a parent
A rigid, authoritarian school in the old sense, lacking any sort of creative, progressive style in teaching. No collaboration with parents, and teachers don't accept input ('insulting' in the French culture). Even though you may think your kid 'loves' going to school, how do you know what's going on in his/her head? Many kids are too frightened and/or intimidated to let you know the truth. The Lycee creates this kind of atmosphere...

Lycee Francais De San Francisco 4

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
The person who s saying that French citizens are a different fee is not true and that American families paying a higher price for the school are helping French citizens to get onboard for cheaper or even free is pure lies, the simple fact is the French gov. delivers a scolarship based on earnings to determine how big will be the help, but the French Gov. Is paying the same price than everybody else, which is not something you would from Uncle Sam, that s for sure. For the school review, they are a French school, good discipline, teachers are nice in the Hashbury campus. I am happy for my son to be there, he has made lots of progress, and let s not forget the more the better, speaking, writing and understanding different cultures is for sure better than only one, it s a fact.


Lycee Francais De San Francisco 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
I love it! My kids have been there for 8 years and they still love going to school everyday! They are now bi-lingual english-french. Their classmates are from all over the world and the real and huge cultural diversity can probably only be found in this school. Families are also socially very diverse with several sources of scholarship programs depending if you're french or not and the school has massively increased its own scholarship envelop to help non-french families...and it's not the most expensive private school in the Bay Area! A lot of academic in the French program but isn't that also what better prepares children to succeed later in life? A more and more extended offer of extra-curricular activities including judo, Karate, fencing, soccer team from K to 12th... French education here in San Francisco is a chance in life that I am happy to give my children!

Lycee Francais De San Francisco 1

Posted January 10, 2009
- a parent
So over-the-top academic, and far too much homework. If you want your 10-year old child (5th grade) to be doing two hours of homework per night, then you'd be happy here. Otherwise, your kid won't have a life outside school--all work and no play makes Jack/Jill a dull person!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lycee Francais De San Francisco
1201 Ortega Street, San Francisco, CA  94122
(415) 661-5232
Last modified Lycee Francais De San Francisco is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Lycee Francais De San Francisco Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top