Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bradenton Charter School

Charter | 3-8 | 99 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2013

I'm a student here at Bradenton Charter School. I got to say that before this school. I really didn't care about my future. All I cared about was when the next hit game was going to come out. I barely went to school, didn't try as much, and didn't care. Then at 7th grade I just stopped going to school completely . Didn't do FCAT, nor any work but, somehow I was passed. I'm not sure how, but I was shocked. Then I started to think about my future. What am I going to do all my life. I knew I had to go back to school. Because my parents dropped out of high school to take care of my older brother, and I didn't want to live like this. I wanted to achieve something. My recent school I didn't like. Lots of bullying and ignorant kids. So I searched for a smaller school. I came across this one. I'm not sure about you guys and saying that there were bullying but, the first day I went there. There were kind kids around me. Some of them were a bit immature but it was ok. I didn't know anything. Just some multiplication and what not. No science either. My mom said the teachers would help, and let me tell yah. I learned so much more. Getting 5's in every writing prompt. And getting a's and b's


Posted November 7, 2012

I relocated to Florida recently and wanted to enroll my children in a Charter school due to the wonderful experience I had with my children's previous Charter school in a different state. I met with the principal of Bradenton Charter prior to me enrolling my children there and notified the principal of my child's educational needs(my child is special needs with a learning disability). However he informed me that the school would be able to accomadate my child's needs and he also explained to me how my child's educational needs would be met. I also read the review for the school on this website which wasn't really bad. Long story short 2mos into my children attending the school it was a disaster. My child was bullied daily and his educational needs weren't being met. He went from making B's and C's to straight F's. I contacted the principal on several occasions about the bullying and grades but he didn't seem to take it seriously. The bullies were allowed to continue to go to school each and every day and continue to act however they wanted with no repercussion. Needless to say I removed my children from the school and wouldn't recommend this school to ANYONE....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

Enrolled my child in this school thinking that she would get better accommodations than in a regular public school setting as a child with learning disability. What I found was that this school engages in "teaching the test, " focusing on FCAT scores rather than individual learning. One to one help consisted of a teacher's assistant with no college degree and a classroom teacher that had an expired license the entire year and appeared burned out every time I saw her. I was highly disappointed on the emphasis to pass the FCAT and the limited resources this school had to offer. Would not recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

I have found the teachers to be very dedicated to helping each child learn. Children at this school need additional attention and help. The teachers arrive before school starts and are there after school ends. These teacher have to work eight hours a day without a break, not even a break for lunch. Few parents or care givers donate any time to the school. Some are working others may not have transportation. Before you criticize the teachers take time to visit and help out, as this will benefit your child and the teachers. The great majority of time is spent teaching the child how to behave, act responsibly and listen. This is a great school with dedicated teachers and staff. It would be nice to call and thank them for their sacrifices.


Posted March 1, 2011

I've been researching schools to find an alternative from what my children are dealing with in their current public schools. When I read the negative review about how there was no homework, I had to comment. Did you even bother researching what type of school this was?! Many parents, like myself find this policy wonderful. If you want your kid to have loads of busy work, you have much more choices than us parents who feel that homework is out of control. Do your research. And while your at it, research the studies that show homework does not improve outcomes., especially in elementary years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

Our daughter arrived at this school behind academically and feeling beaten down by the other students at her last school. Within a year and a half she has caught up to where she is supposed to be (+) and feels reallys confident. Thank goodness there isn't tons of homework. We do what the teacher recommends -- 40 min. of reading at home & drills for basic math facts. We used to sit at home for HOURS doing homework and all felt angry by dinner time. Why all the homework -- what are the teachers teaching during the day?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

This school is a joke for many reasons. One is, there is a 'no homework policy'. I asked a teacher about giving homework and was told she would be fired if she gave homework. Another teacher said giving homework is a waste of time because the kids do not do it. How is this teaching accountability and responsibility to a student. Homework aside, my child was not challenged here. I have no confidence in the leadership of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

This School has helped my Daughter in every way Learning and her self a steam .The Teachers are Helpful and understanding to what your Child needs , the class sizes are Small and there's more one on one with the children And that's Just what my daughter Needed ! Mr. Donnelly is On top of what The kids need In His School and I'm Proud to say My Child Goes There .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

The teachers are great. It is a small school and the kids leave with a sense of accomplishmnet. The focus is on learning not just the FCAT. Rosa Maple
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

Our public school experience was really bad. My son is doing much better. He still acts like a kid, but doesn't fight going to school. Last year's teacher was fantastic and this year's teachers are really challenging him. I love the change I see. The principal, Mr. Donnelly is old school and really tells it how it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2004

School is good, lucky to have teachers that 'think out of the box' principle needs to be changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
5%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
15%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

22 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Black N/A 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 151%N/A59%
Female 242%N/A49%
Male 258%N/A51%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%54%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2615 26th St W
Bradenton, FL 34205
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 739-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Broach School
Bradenton, FL



Peace Lutheran School
Bradenton, FL


Radebach School
Bradenton, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT