Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Buffum Elementary

Public | K-2

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2010

Buffum is our home school and to be honest it was not my first choice for my children to go there. After meeting the staff who are very welcoming and helpful, which was a nice change from some of the other school that i visted, I was at ease with the fact that this is were they were going to go and focused on the positive. Buffum has a great kindergarten music class, my boys loved their teacher and i can honestly say had a very good experience. They also have a commited group of volunteers that try to make the most of whatever function the school puts on and a principal that is ever present. We might not have Mac computers but we have good teachers and staff that care about your children and their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

My granddaughter was new to this school this year, and they have a wonderful program welcoming new kids to the school. They have all the new kids meet and sit down for lunch with a counseler and introduce them to each other. I think it is wonderful how they make the new kids feel special and wanted. Great idea and very helpful to the 'new kids on the block'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2008

my oldest son went there and his younger brothers go there. I love Buffum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

My daughter has been a student at Buffum since she was in Kinder and now she's a fifth grader. We love Buffum!! The thing I have always loved about Buffum is how everyone (parents, teachers & staff) work together here for the children. I don't worry about my child when she comes to school, because at Buffum, everyone is family. Test scores are up every year because the teachers and staff work diligently to make sure our kids are getting the education they need. I don't say it often or enought, but thank you teachers, staff and some of dedicated parent volunteers for your part in my child's life at Buffum. Angelica
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

My children have been at Buffum for 3 years and we love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

my son just started kinder and so far its been great can't ask for more
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2008

My son is currently in Kinder at Buffum, he has a great teacher and loves to go to school everyday. My son tries hard to get 'bulldog pride.' I could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

Average, that is how I describe Buffum Elementary. The PTA is small, and is really struggling to get more parent involvement. The administration also seems be working out some kinks with the office staff, having to hire on temporary staffing for the end of last year seemed to have effected this year. I hope it starts to come all together because I am currently shopping around for a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

Very displeased with my child's 1st grade teacher and the teacher's unprofessional manner in teaching style. At this time I do not recommend this school for those that have a choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

We love Buffum Elementary! It is a blessing that staff has been here for so many years! Some had children that went to the school but they stay to help the next generations! Great PTA & wonderful principal, teachers & parents! This is a school with a wonderful community spirit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

Buffum is a fantastic school with terrific teachers and staff. Buffum was awarded the California Distinguished School Award, and it was well deserved. Unlike many schools that are all about testing, testing, testing, Buffum teachers create a nice balance of academic achievement and fun. My daughter has attended Buffum since 1st grade, and she's well-prepared for middle school. Buffum has a recognized physical education program, a violin program that even covers kindergarten, and several other programs such as computers, chess, and drama. They also offer onsite aftercare through the YMCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

Although, I have been a supportive parent, I have been displeased with the quality of teaching at Buffum. The school's social activities are superb, but academically it is lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2005

I have a niece that goes to Buffum Elementary school and she Loves It! It is a well rounded educational system. Buffum has numerous after school programs that assist children in academics. Buffum's test scores are improving yearly and you would be very satisfied if you chose Buffum for your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2004

I just wanted to say to the parent complaining about children being bussed in....Buffum does not bus in children from other areas. You must have the wrong school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2004

This school is not a good school. Test scores are below average on district site. Children are bussed in from other areas which accounts for large class sizes. If there is a complaint from a parent it goes unrecognized. I have moved my child out of this school due to bad adminastration and teachers that are just sitting and waiting for retirement and do not care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I feel that Buffum is a good school overall. I have had a great experience with the staff at Buffum. I would like to see more activities for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2011.

This school's
API score

835

Change from
2010 to 2011

-32

API Statewide Rank
(2011)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2011)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2011

This school's
API score

835

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2010 to 2011

-32

Change from 2010 to 2011
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2011)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2011)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2011 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2011.
API Similar Schools Rank (2011)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2011)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 51%
White 26% 27%
Asian 13% 11%
Black 12% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Deborah Anderson
Fax number
  • (562) 494-4898

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2350 Ximeno Ave.
Long Beach, CA 90815
Phone: (562) 498-2431

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Bethany School
Long Beach, CA


Our Lady Of Refuge
Long Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT