Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (5 responses)
characters left.
There are 96 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Neighborhood School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 14, 2016
- a community member
this school gives no homework why is this even a question never had a meeting on academics at this school

Neighborhood School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 14, 2016
- a community member
projects are always done but not academics math reading social study in that nature no


Neighborhood School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 14, 2016
- a community member
everytime i went i seen children roaming the hall with adults yeah staff and teachers are more friends then teaching the student

Neighborhood School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 14, 2016
- a community member
it is hard to get your child out once enrolled they need students to remain open they do not teach

Neighborhood School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 14, 2016
- a community member
you child will pass no matter what they grade based on the best project that is made


Neighborhood School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 24, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to school Principal Dyanthe Spielberg for her inspiring leadership and strong advocacy for our children!

Neighborhood School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 24, 2016
- a parent
As a college faculty member, I've been extremely impressed by the pedagogical approach, training, and preparation of TNS teachers. We meet with our teachers and get personalized narrative reports on our child's progress.

Neighborhood School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 24, 2016
- a parent
The school gives homework but doesn't bury kids in it. The homework itself does not center around rote activities and memorization, but instead encourages the intellectual development of the child.


Neighborhood School 5

Posted June 24, 2016
- a parent
TNS is a very special place. Our 7 year-old is just completing first grade and our 4 year-old will begin pre-k next year. Through its nurturing approach to education, TNS helps shape imaginative, creative children who are curious about the world and empowered and inspired to learn. The school is run by an excellent principal; its combination of project-based learning, respect for play, incorporation of languages, arts, and science, and its overall spirit make it one of NYC's educational gems. I am so happy that our kids go to TNS.

Neighborhood School 5

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
My daughter loves going to school each day. She is excited about science and Spanish and library. Everyday she tells me what she has learned and thatreinforces the idea that I made the right choice in choosing the Neighborhood School.

Nearby schools

Neighborhood School
121 East 3rd Street, New York, NY  10009
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 96 reviews. (212) 387-0195
Last modified Neighborhood School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top