Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vare Edwin H Middle School 4

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
My son is currently an 8th grader at Vare and I must say the staff has done a tremendous job at turning negative reviews into positive ones. I think the new STEM and arts program although fairly new is keeping my son active with his science and math projects. I love the activities and programs that the FRC has been doing to involve more parent interaction at the school. It definitely will take parents along with teachers in helping our children to stay focused to achieve greatness. You can not expect for the school to do it alone without the support of the parents and community.

Vare Edwin H Middle School 1

Posted August 20, 2014
- a community member
This school is horrible. It should be closed immediately. I mean really. The building is very, VERY old. It was finished 1924 for god's sake. The staff while some professional, others do not know how to handle children and come to work and not to educate. I've seen it first hand. Teachers who say "what you do reflects me". It's like they only care for themselves. Also, reading is used as a punishment. This is why children don't want to read. They say there is going to be a new STEM and Arts "Academy". Yeah right. But I would love to see how this goes and if it does make the school better. "Offering Culinary and business courses"? Okay... But the students are nothing but bullies. Most students don't even try. They wants to become basketball stars and rappers. Not focusing and thinking they can do it. Not wanting to think of back up plan. If not that they talk about being in gangs and admiring the rappers and criminal saying they would love to use drugs. Using profanity with not only each other but teachers. Not a great environment. Please for the sake of the children, don't send yours here.


Vare Edwin H Middle School 3

Posted September 07, 2013
- a community member
I have to say that the school had inproved a lot in the 4 years that I have been there. The teachers are trying their best to teach the students. Not only that they care so much that they try to keep the kids out of trouble... I have to say that the teachers their Dont give up and on the students... With the students and teachers and students, they all had improved in their behavior and learning

Vare Edwin H Middle School 1

Posted July 08, 2013
- a teacher
If you can send your child to another school, I highly advise you to do so. I worked one year at Vare, and it was probably the most emotionally draining, depressing year of my life. Administration is distant, ignorant, and cold, teachers - while some of them do honestly try their best - are untrained, unskilled, and unsupported. From day one, students were primarily yelled at and ignored when they had a problem. Academics are not taken seriously (i.e., homework was almost never checked or collected in 3/4 of classes). This school essentially forces students to practice for standardized tests every couple of weeks, disrupting what little time they actually do have to learn. The worst area, though, is behavior and discipline. Fights are common, and rarely result in any significant punishment. The "climate" or non-teaching assistants cause at least as much trouble as they resolve, joking with students in the halls who should be in class and sometimes even encouraging bad behavior. If this school is going to improve, it needs a complete redesign of leadership and disciplinary structures.

Vare Edwin H Middle School 4

Posted May 24, 2012
- a teacher
Universal Vare Charter School is working together with the students, parents, community and beyond to create the best learning environment possible for our students. The start of Positive Behavior Support (PBS) will be an effective practice to change the overall climate at Vare. Students area already making huge improvements, I can't wait to see how next year goes!


Vare Edwin H Middle School 3

Posted April 29, 2012
- a teacher
This school has improved tremendously since being taken over by Universal. I am proud to teach here. I can see a drastic change in the children since September. This school will be a showpiece for the community within the next 5 years. The academics are rigorous and the school leadership is sound. This school is working hard to make a difference for their students. We will be 5 stars within the next few years.

Vare Edwin H Middle School 1

Posted May 26, 2010
- a teacher
I have worked in 10 schools in my career. This is by far the worse. You don t teach you babysit. You have to physically put kids in their class. There is no control. All I do is break up fights on a daily basis, sometimes more than one a day. Have ruined a few shirts when I got students blood on them. No real discipline. Scant supplies. Building falling apart.

Vare Edwin H Middle School 1

Posted April 01, 2010
- a parent
There is a reason this school is persistantly dangerous. There is no discipline and the students are very aware of this fact. The administration is not supportive and are unresponsive when incidents occur. The teachers seem to be trying their best, but they cannot succeed if there is not strong leadership. The assistant principal is rude and unprofessional when speaking to people.


Vare Edwin H Middle School 3

Posted August 28, 2009
- a student
The teachers are wonderful, they have a good set of morals, and will try their best to teach every student, only if they are willing to help themselves. The only problem is that some students don't appreciate that, and act out, bad parenting leads to children misbehaving in school. So I wouldn't blame the school if it was 'bad', I'd blame the lack of discipline the students gain from exterior sources.

Vare Edwin H Middle School 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a community member
This school was great. I have learned so much through it, and it has left a scar that will forever remind me of life's challenges. The school is a constant battlefield physically, mentally, and emotionally. If you can make it through this, you are the man! Though it is tough, it is nothing compared to Southern. That place is barbaric.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vare Edwin H Middle School
2100 South 24th St, Philadelphia, PA  19145
(215) 952-8611
Last modified Vare Edwin H Middle School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 5-8
Vare Edwin H Middle School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top